Curiosity Killed the Cat / Creative Nonfiction Prompt #40

in The Ink Well10 months ago


imagen.png

Since I was a child I have been very curious, I wanted to know everything and I kept asking questions, sometimes my grandmother told me: "Inesita, curiosity killed the cat", of course I made her lose her patience, because I literally strafed her with questions, that was it, she answered and immediately, I asked the other question.

Grandma, what do you keep in that tureen," I asked her.

"Stop being curious, you always ask the same thing".

"I ask you again, because you never answer me".

"Don't be curious, Inesita."

The grandmother kept with much zeal, the content of that blue soup tureen, that adorned the last section of the showcase, which was in the living room of the house, since I was a child I was always curious to know what was in there and repeatedly, I asked her what she kept there, but she never told me, this made my curiosity grow.

When I passed by the living room, my eyes immediately focused on the soup tureen, "What could be stored in such a small space?", I wondered; I imagined some gold morocotas tucked in there, I remember that many times, I wanted to be a butterfly to fly there, or have elastic legs, to reach them, on several occasions I placed a chair, but still could not reach the tureen.

Only my mother had the possibility to see what the grandmother hid there, because she touched it when she did the cleaning; I also asked her what was in the tureen, to which she always answered that she did not know.

Time passed and the blue soup tureen was still in the same place and I was unable to know what its contents were, but one day, I found the opportunity to kill my curiosity; Grandma went to the doctor with my mother and at home my cousin Mario and I were left.

"Mario, bring the small ladder from the courtyard", I said to my cousin.

"What for," I ask, with a frown.

"Go on, go on," I pushed him out of the room.

My cousin obeyed and immediately came back carrying the ladder.

"Put it here," I said, pointing to the bottom of the display case.

"What are you going to do, Inés?

"I just want to see the contents of Grandma's blue soup tureen."

"You're going to get in trouble, you know, we are forbidden to touch the ornaments in the display case."

"Don't worry, they won't even notice we did it."

Without wasting any time, I climbed up the ladder and told Mario to hold it.

Finally, I would be able to see what grandma's jealousy kept in the tureen, and my curiosity would be satisfied.

But when I had the tureen in my hands, the door opened.

"What are you doing there?" shouted my mother, who had gone back to the house to look for something, I got scared and dropped the tureen, Mario dropped the ladder in shock, it rolled and I rolled with it.

My mother ran to pick me up and there I was, with a huge bump on my forehead that looked like a hen's egg, my mouth was broken and my arm was in excruciating pain.
They had to take me to the hospital, it turns out that I had a sprained elbow, so they had to put a splint on me and tell me to rest.

When I got home, my grandmother was already there, holding a photograph in her hand, she said to me:

"Are you happy now, nothing is left of my blue soup tureen, which was a special gift from your grandfather."

I couldn't even look at my grandmother, I was really sorry.

"This was the first picture we took together, your grandfather and I, for years it was next to these rings, in that tureen", said grandma, with the picture in one hand and the rings in the other.

At that moment, I wanted the earth to open up and swallow me. Grandma was really upset. I could feel her gaze fixed and sharp on me. She was pressing her lips tightly together and impatiently moving one foot.

"I'm sorry, grandma, I didn't mean to break it," I whispered, looking at the floor.

"I warned you, curiosity killed the cat," Grandma said. "But you had to check it out".

Grandma went to the kitchen and came back, with some salted butter and spread it on the bump on my forehead.

"Now, see what you have earned for being so curious, you have an injured arm, a broken mouth and this tremendous bump on your forehead".

I did not receive any punishment, my cousin Mario was punished for several days, for having seconded me in this prank, I spent 21 days with my arm immobilized, enough punishment, I already had.

I am still curious, but not so much anymore, lest, like the cat, curiosity kills me.

imagen.png
This is my Participation in Creative Nonfiction in The Ink Well Prompt # 40, I hope you like my publication.

The image used were made in Canva

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)
imagen.png

imagen.png

Sort:  

Wow, this is so creative. It's the guilt for bringing your grandmother's vese for me.

Yes a lot of guilt, thanks for reading and commenting, best regards🤗

After an experience like this, the desire to stick our noses where we have not been called disappears. When I read that you fell off the ladder, I scrunched up my face because it must have been a hard blow. Good thing it wasn't something more severe. Yet, it's sad what happened with the soup tureen. Regards.

I took a big hit for being so curious, but I learned my lesson, heh heh heh heh...Thanks for reading and commenting on my story, greetings!

@inessita, what a great tremendura you did for being curious. I really liked the way you narrated your story. And I think the biggest punishment for you was not the beating but the feeling of guilt for breaking your grandmother's vase.
Regards 😊

The truth that I felt very bad, because it was an object that my grandmother appreciated very much, thanks for reading and commenting, greetings!

Wow. What an experience. Sometimes, when we get too curios, we meet our Waterloo and get to regret pursuing an adventure we ought to have desisted from.

Well yes, sometimes regret comes late, Thanks for reading and commenting, cheers 🤗

You paid a heavy price for your curiosity to know what was inside the tureen. very entertaining story.

Thanks for sharing.
Good day.

Heh heh heh heh, if I got expensive the prank of snooping, that hid the grandmother in the tureen, greetings and thanks for reading and commenting.

Such a tragically hilarious tale. It must’ve been a huge surprise for you to discover that the soup tureen contained no more than a photograph and rings; your poor grandmother, she must’ve adored you to forgive you so readily.

I thinking that there she kept, jewelry or maybe gold coins; My grandmother loves me very much, although sometime or other, she reminds me what happened with her soup tureen, Thank you for your comment, greetings!

Congratulations @inessita! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 300 comments.
Your next target is to reach 400 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

I imagine your surprise when you finally saw what was in it and realized you probably didn't need to know after all.
Lol, a pity only your partner got the punishment for simply helping out even though you were warned