I always escaped severe occurrences by the skin of my teeth

in The Ink Well25 days ago

It wasn't the first time. I turned back to look at the retreating lights of the tricycle that I just alighted from and struggled to steady my trembling frame as I found a spot to sit down so I could call someone on my contact list to get me out of the unknown dark, scary street where I found myself.
image.png
source
Jane wasn't picking up, and neither was Amara, my best friend so I opted to call Jude. That loud guy who had been trying to get me to go out with him since I first stepped foot in his photo studio. He was very annoying but was my last option, especially because he had a car.

He picked up on the third ring.

“Jude, could you please come pick me up? I'm stranded in an unknown place”

“Ah Nne!” He began in his loud, Igbo intonation “What are you doing on the road by this time? And you're even stranded. How come?”

“Ohhhhh Jude!” My voice had increased by twice its normal volume, “If you're coming to pick me then come. Don't ask me yeye questions!”

I heard him grunt that he was coming at the other end of the line then I hung up. Jude arrived at Cosmic Lane, just before the street I was hiding and I went out to meet him. It was a few minutes to 9 pm and it just began to drizzle.

“You want me to take you home and make you tea?” He asked when he noticed that I was trembling.

“I'm not cold, Jude,” I told him. I was scared, but I didn't say that. Jude wasn't the right person to talk to about what I had just experienced. I allowed him to drop me in front of my gate even when I wasn't comfortable with letting him know my house. The kind of person Jude was, he could show up unannounced at my house simply because he was privileged to know where I stayed.

My Amara called him a painful boil.

Just as I dropped off Jude's car, Amara returned my call. I made sure I locked my compound gate before taking her call.

“Where on planet earth have you been ma?” I asked her as I walked to my apartment.

“I was sleeping, sorry. I saw 6 missed calls from you”

Amara could sleep even when her house was on fire without perceiving the fumes. I constantly prayed that her deep sleeping habit would not allow her to meet misfortune one day.

“I just got delivered from kidnappers….” I knew she wouldn't let me finish my sentence. She was up and running to my house immediately when she heard that. She arrived in 20 minutes.

“What happened to you?” She spun me around to check every part of my body before thrusting the nylon of avocado pears she brought me into my hands and sat me on my bed.

“I'm not handicapped madam,” I chided her as I rose to get a tray and small knife for the pear. “I got into a Keke with 2 guys and shortly afterwards, another guy joined in. I didn't think it was weird or anything until we drove through an unfamiliar route” I sliced one of the pears into two and offered Amara one along with a spoon she could use to scoop the flesh out.

“I asked the driver where we were and he asked me to shut up. That was when I knew I was in trouble”

Amara didn't touch the part of the pear I gave to her, she was gradually tearing up but I knew I had to finish up the story.

“I asked the driver to drop me and he didn't say anything, he just kept driving. The man seated next to me asked me to hand over my phone and money. I told him I had only 200 naira on me and that I wasn't with my phone. My phone was in my bag, I was praying hard that it wouldn't ring. It seemed when they realized they couldn't get anything from me, they decided to drop me off”

Amara put her arms around me and finally wept like a baby. She was muttering a lot of things but I could only catch “Thank you, Jesus”. I allowed her to exhaust the tears she had gathered and then finished up my story.

“Surprisingly, those people asked me where they could drop me off and all I could say was ‘anywhere’. I mean, I didn't even know where I was, talk more of knowing where I should be dropped. Eventually, they dropped me on a street along Cosmic Lane. I had to call Jude since you were not picking up”

“Wow….” Amara wiped stray tears from her cheeks. I knew why she was so emotional. Her older sister got robbed at gunpoint in a similar incident the previous year and even that was a miracle because no bodily harm came to her. Not to talk of me who didn't lose anything at all.

“Thank God for you o. You seem to have an angel on your shoulder because no matter the danger, nothing bad happens to you” she said. She was referring to the other time when I was drugged in a taxi and before I could be harmed, police rounded up the accomplices. It was my first time in the city and she barely knew me well then.

I didn't know if to agree with her but I always escaped severe occurrences by the skin of my teeth.

I allowed Amara to wrap her hands around me again as my eyes became heavy, giving in to sleep knowing that I was finally safe.

Sort:  

You had a very strong experience. The good thing is that you were unharmed and nothing bad happened to you. I have known people who have not been as lucky as you and have ended up with nothing.

Great story!

Thank you for reading my story and sharing your thoughts. I appreciate your kind words. It was indeed a challenging experience, and I feel fortunate to have come out of it unharmed.

These are extremely dangerous situations. Luckily you managed to emerge from that predicament unscathed. In an unknown city there are many dangers lurking.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Good day.

You're right. I'm grateful that I was able to get out of it without any harm.

Thanks for taking the time to read and comment on my story.

Wow. That's wild. I am glad you were not hurt. Those people are bad, and you must truly have an angel with you. Thank goodness.

Your kind words mean a lot. I do feel fortunate to have had a guardian angel watching over me. Thank you for reading, darling

You are welcome

The trauma that comes with this, thankfully your prayers work and ThankGod you're safe now.

I can't even wished been kidnapped by my worst enemy.

It's not something anyone should ever have to go through. I'm just so thankful that that I made it out safely

Congratulations @iskawrites! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 85000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 90000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024

I am very glad you were not hurt. I don't wish that kind of incident of anyone.

That makes two of us, thank you

Glad you were let yo without hurting you. Such a sad one.

Glad you were let yo without hurting you. Such a sad one.

Thank you so much

It does seem that you live a charmed existence. The temptation is to advise that you not go anywhere alone, but that would make life unlivable. Perhaps, next time, it would be wise not to get in a keke when strange men are in there. But, the driver could always stop and pick them up along the way, couldn't he. It's a terrible situation and you are certainly lucky to have escaped with not only your life, but your belongings. Keeping your phone was critical, so you could reach out for help.

This is an effectively told experience, @iskawrites. Thank you for sharing it with us.

Amara is sure the safety plug, sometimes luck just shines on one but talking to the right person is the right thing to do.

You have gained powerful experience here through which you have suffered no losses. He showed a lot of bravery. Amazing stories I was also involved in such stories when I was a child.

It's how I was actively saying "Thank God' before I finished reading. Thank God you are safe.

Hi @iskawrites, it's good that you were able to get out of that situation with well, apparently you have a guardian angel who protects very well, as my grandmother would say.
My greetings.
!ALIVE

@iskawrites! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ osomar357. (7/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

That's a scary experience. Very scary. It's gratifying that you were not harmed nor got robbed of your belongings. I wish they knew that crime does not pay.

A terrible experience of a kidnapping. Very well told. As I read I could imagine your fear and your mother's anguish.

Greetings @iskawrites