Mortal Flight

in The Ink Well2 years ago (edited)

Mortal Flight

You play a melody that speaks to my senses in low modulus notes. The poetic flute that creases my soul in folds of wonder, so acute.

I listen to the words and they hold my heart in a graceful embrace. I look into your eyes and I hope to escape my fate.

Your breath is so sweet, but you are a mortal man. I know this but I cannot help the bubble that rises, so effervescent, on euphoria within my essence.

Meridith, has sent notes to Faustus. I know that she has done this thing to me, and yet, I greet her amiably at morning prayers, everyday. The High Priestesses of the coven looks, sadly, gaunt.

Betrayal weighs heavy on her, her eyelids droop when she looks at me. She knows that I know.

I’m useless at witchcraft, for which I’ve been hewn, but I’m a damn good hacker, most of the time, anyway. I’ve traversed the crystal shimmer, for all that I’m worth, but I can’t find the message that Meridith forwarded on the network to the wizard, Faustus, the conjurer of the foil.

Magic exists in parallel, or so they say, the ordinary and the extraordinary, side by side, almost the same. The eventful and the uneventful, mirrored across the divide that separates me from you, my love…my love.

My love…

I understand that my abominations are the reason for Meridith’s concern, I understand that I lack control, that I practice erroneous magic. There are numerous examples of my misdemeanors. For instance, everyone was horrified when I flunked materialization by appearing, without the requisite cloaking, on the floor of the Target supermarket. The whole deal was caught on cctv, and broadcast across the human foil.

It was an interruption of magic.

…I understand.

I failed at weather manipulation, too. I tried to circumvent a hurricane in the Bahamas, but, instead I froze the rain, in mid-air, an incongruous, newsworthy sight.

I exposed magic.

What if we were caught?

I’m useless at witchcraft, and I shouldn’t be such a bad witch. No, I should be a good witch, given my illustrious lineage. Afterall, I was born of witches, wizards and elves. I have very important ancestors, really!

Witches, what are we worth? Well…

In the plasma that reacts to the synapse of lightning that escapes across the foil, magic transplaces matter. I know now that these reactions are miracles for mortals.

But...I yearn for your voice. A reason to exist. Obviously, I want to provide the surreal, but I want to experience it, too.

I should know my place, because it would be the ultimate chaos, the negation of our realm.

Witches know. They know that there’s an untraversable divide. A no go area.

My sin...

But, he’s different. He’s cognisant. He’s connected...I can’t explain.

He scathes me bare.

But a world without miracles?

I would undo magic...

So, I laugh, even if I can’t find Meridith’s warning note, I revel in the nebula of blue and purple delight. I hear your tune, my love and I savor the verses you scatter for my delight.

But, I have to choose witchcraft, the foil, miracles…and flight.

I understand.

img_3927.png

The drawing is my own. Digitally drawn on my iPad in Art Studio

Sort:  

I can't think of one decent thing to say about this because I'm still "in it"...

Not one thing except I'm bookmarking it.

(⁠•⁠‿⁠•⁠)

Now I'm going to take days tryin' to figure out how you did that!

Also... I have a thing I want to make. We should chat when you have more space and time maybe...

Oh how lovely, poetic, and painful! I love the rich language you use. You are an inspiration.

I thought she would choose him. That is the paradigm of non-mortals falling in love with mortals, isn't it? Well I'm very proud of you for not selecting the trite and expected ending. It is richer, more poignant and so bittersweet.

Thank you @jayna 🤗❤️💕❤️🤗🤗❤️💕❤️🤗

Strange and magical story where different worlds intertwine.    You allow an actualization of magic in a science fiction setting where the poetic condition of the speaker floods the reader's feeling.  Excellent idea, @itsostylish. Thank you for this beautiful text! 

Thank you for reading 🤗❤️💕❤️🤗🤗

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Finally I read your story!

A few observations. You adopt the style of incantations in your writing: hard to do but oh so effective in a story told by a witch :)

It's funny. Target!!! Messing up the hurricane. You are funny. This could have been a tad melodramatic, but you rescue it from that with your wit.

You are clever, clever, clever. Well done (but did you link it to the prompt post?)

Thank you @agmoore. Your comment is the best thing in my day

aw, this is beautifully composed my Stylish... truly beautiful ♥️♥️♥️

You brought together a few of my favourite things - a marriage of poetry and prose, of classics and modern literature. Your heart and soul wandered deep on this one - you should be very happy with the result. It felt like a reading of a Greek tragedy on one level but also that of a modern fantastical and soulful love story. Definitely not a dearth of creativity!!! Loved it! !LUV !ALIVE !LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@samsmith1971, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @itsostylish and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/2 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

@itsostylish! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thanks @samsmith1971

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@itsostylish, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @samsmith1971 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/1 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

A real sad story. It's great she has the confidence and strength to choose her people over love

❤️🤗💕💕

Amazing artwork. Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful day

Thank you

You are welcome


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Beautifully crafted language throughout, my stylish friend! Definitely a post worthy of a POSH nomination! ;)

Thanks Lord Tim❤️🤗💕🥂☕️☕️☕️