You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Creative Nonfiction Prompt #49

It’s definitive moments like these that alter the course of a life! You’re more than aware of the kind of life you might’ve had if not for your wonderful teacher and a derelict house full of comics.
Although my house was always full of books and I learned to read at my mother’s knee (Enid Blyton, mostly), I also had “that” teacher, she was a nun at the convent I attended, called Sister Bulldog.
I loved every minute of this nostalgic, poignant read! ❤️🔥❤️🔥❤️🔥❤️😁😁

Sort:  

Thank you for those kind words.

My mother read to us when we were very, very young. I remember her reading from Bre'er Rabbit. I don't know where she found the time. You know we were six kids, all born with a six-year span. One brother had suffered brain trauma at birth. He was profoundly disabled, a paraplegic and no control of his swallowing muscles. She cared for him alone, without husband or help of any kind. She used to feed him with great tenderness by mashing food and slowly easing it between his lips. Three meals a day!!. She loved to read and when I got older helped me to study. But in those early years...she was heroic just keeping us alive. And she did it with great love.

Your mom was amazing 🤩 Much luv! ❤️💕❤️💕