Sweetie

in The Ink Well2 months ago (edited)

Dawn breaks in pink and lavender perfection across the autumn sky of Africa. It’s a mesmerizing spectacle. A spectacle that should push your troubles off the table of life. But, no! Not today! Today is randomly selected by spiteful gods to annihilate hope. It sounds really bad, and of course it is.
My beautiful, fifteen-year-old cat’s life on the line.
How did it come to this?
This dreadful finality?

I’m numb.
Numb!
And broken.
Pieces of me are scattered on the floor, and I’m never, ever going to be okay. Not ever again.
Her heart was always so pure. She arrived at my doorstep, a kitten dressed in adult shoes. She ate the small meals that I left out for her each day.
She returned, day after day.
One day (I’d say fateful, but it’s such a cliche), she stepped over the back door threshold.
She’d never done that before. She always kept her distance, despite the treats—milk and tuna.
She seemed so shy.
But then…
One fateful day, she gingerly stepped into my kitchen.
“Meow!” She whispered, drawing my reluctant ear.
“Meow.” It was "How are you?”
She was iridescent, white with black patches. I promise! She shone!
Perfectly beautiful!
Perfect.
But there was more (I promise that I’m not lying). She stepped over my threshold, and five exquisite kittens followed in her wake.
Clever girl. Such a clever girl. She knew exactly where to take her kittens for safety. For security. For sustenance and, obviously, for love. ❤️
Oh, my! How we loved them. Each one was a special gem.
Sugar
Spice
Gin
Tonic
and…
Boy (IDK)
but there you have it.
A wonderful, very, very happy family.
OMG, we have been, were, and are no more!
My Spice was lost in the summer of '23.
Sugar, chosen in the winter of ‘23
Gin and Tonic were selected years ago. Gin succumbed to the wheels of a car. Tonic disappeared without a trace.
I found a good home for Boy (he was the prettiest.)
And Sweetie Mommy...
She succumbed to the needle of forever this afternoon.
After fifteen years together,.
We will never be the same.
Not ever.


All images are mine, shot with my iPad

Sort:  

I'm crying inside for you today, my Stylish 😭🙏💗 This was so beautifully written... heartwrenching. I can feel the emptiness that you feel inside. It's so relatable. Being touched and blessed by our babies' presence in our lives changes us forever, and losing that constant is incredibly difficult. We never get over loss like this, and neither should we. It runs too deep. But we do get through it, with His Grace, lots of TLC, and time to heal. Sending you so much love 💗💗💗

Heart wrenching and beautiful post about a beautiful relationship with your baby, Sweetie. It touched me so deeply. So relatable. It breaks my heart to see you hurting so much. Sending you lots of love.

Well written. I could feel every of word, and every bit of emotion. It's quite sad, but things like this do happen. I pray the heavens bless your lovely heart and strengthen you in moments of weakness ❤️

So sorry for your loss...
15 years is a lot of time together..
You must've loved her dearly 💘..

Your writing has so much loaded feeling that it touches the fibers of the soul of those who read it. Letters transformed into melancholic poetry that flies in the wind.

Thanks for sharing.
Good day.

Aw. You gave the kittens such sweet names!

You descibed how you met them wonderfly!

You must really loved her so dear.
Take heart and stay strong

Oh my God! What did I just read. What emotionally heart breaking piece that's carefully crafted did I just read. Although the others pain in this write up trust me it's a beautiful piece in memory of your loss.
💔

Oh, @itsostylish. These partings are the hardest. Our precious babies are with us for a time, and then we have to say goodbye. And they take big pieces of our hearts with them.

I'm sending an absolutely enormous hug over the miles to you. May it lessen your sorry in some small way. May Sweetie and all her babies live forever in your heart.

@itsostylish, @yaziris Sent You 3 Shares for the DrawMatic Lifetime Prize Draws!

Your new share balance will be effective in the upcoming prize pool draws from now on, forever and ever...
DrawMatic shares last a lifetime!
The more shares you own, the higher your chance of winning in each and every upcoming draw! 😎
Drawmatic_cmtBanner.jpgJoin DrawMatic on Discord To check shares and other information, or if you want to gift any amount of shares you own to others.