The Tsiwatos and the Son of the Red Moon.



Pixabay by jplenio


A gentle breeze wandered among the trees who among the leaves and dry branches wrote a melody that adorned with the colors of the nearby autumn and the delirious sunset, made the forest seem adorned for a royal banquet.

But few could appreciate such beauty, since as in every village, the forest was a trunk of legends and stories capable of taking anyone's sleep or rather give nightmares. This forest was home to the longest-lived tribe in the city, the Tsiwatos of the black caves, a warrior tribe about 4 centuries old.

We owed the land to them, they fought during the war against the invaders, and were the ones who were in charge of protecting the front, because of their resistance to the mild climate of the mountains we were able to win the war, but it is not the only thing, since they were in charge of protecting the forest against the ambition of the kings.



Pixabay by Murati


Today, this forest is about to lose its protectors, because the weakness of conviction is time. In the following years the new generations did not want to follow the customs, since they saw the hectic city life as a better way of life, little by little the adults that were still left became old, and the youngest abandoned the forest even before they understood the importance it had.

Today the tribe is formed only by the 10 elders, the youngest is 100 years old, and as I said they are long-lived so they still have physical strength, they are of impressive height, but it is not the only surprising thing about them, the most surprising thing is that they are the guardians of the shadow.

Within the tribe to pass from children to adults they were given a series of tests to see if they were ready, a test that each one decided when to do, regardless of whether it was a boy or girl all had to do, because between them there was no difference, each one received a job according to the ability shown.



Pixabay by Kordspace


The ten elders are the last ones who passed the test, 90 years ago and since then they were trained to be one with the forest, but after that, the others did not stay, with time the tribe was only left with the oldest ones, The guardians of the shadows never abandoned them and one by one they gave the honorary farewell to each ancestor in their sleep.

Of the tribe today we only know about them, and their history is about to be lost, although in appearance the Tsiwatos are not really dangerous or threatening, we have always heard of their savagery, but for them, we have been the savages all this time.

Centuries of history have passed where we now believe that the culture that was imposed on us by years of invasions, is civilization and culture, but the reality is that the knowledge of each culture is valuable and that is why even though they seemed savages, I agreed with their opinion that we were the true savages.



Pixabay by Mohamed Hassan


Although they were certainly the only known living ones, my grandmother was also Tsiwato, and although I knew her as Maria in her tribe she was introduced as Red Moon. She told me stories of her tribe, but that as a young girl she abandoned them and never returned out of shame for having disgraced her lineage. A few years ago she died, and I have wanted to talk to them since she passed, so that's what I do today in the forest, I want to see and record the history of such an important tribe, and continue the tradition of protecting the forest, but now with new forms and laws to preserve the most valuable treasure.

After many hours walking around, they finally appeared before me, if by my own will I would have never met them, I always saw myself as a tall person, but when I saw myself surrounded by them, I looked insignificant. Their appearance was imposing, and before I could mention anything, they said to me in unison:


image.png
Unsplash by Boston Public Library


“Welcome, son of the Red Moon, we have been waiting for you”.

Sort:  

A good idea for a good story, @jackdeathblack

Oh, thank you very much my dear friend, although I leave the story to the reader's imagination I too have thought of more than one ending in my mind.

I would gladly follow it, but I think the community rules don't allow it. So it's best to leave it to the imagination. Thank you for taking the time to read it, see you soon and good morning.

You have some good elements for a good fictional story, @jackdeathblack! An ancient tribe disappearing and the return of a son who hopes to carry on the tradition.
Upon finishing reading we are left anxious to know how this story will end.
Thank you for posting on The Ink Well and for supporting the work of other writers with your meaningful comments.

My dear friends of the community, I really appreciate your comments and support. I have really followed your advice and I know I still have a lot to learn, thank you for being aware and for the many suggestions you have been giving me.

Thank you and it's a great day for all of you.

@jackdeathblack He is the last descendant of the team of centuries-old jungle guards, whether the presence of the hero is correctly shown, it seemed to the end that these protectors should not attack the hero inadvertently.
Very exciting story.,

Thank you very much for your appreciation, it is really a pleasure to read your point of view, best regards.

It's impressive, very good..🌸

Thank you very much for taking the time to read it, I'm glad you liked it, sometimes it's hard to start a story, but after you start it's like a river flowing through a hole in a dam.

Yes, It happens to mee :)

I really like stories about traditional tribes like this. I think this is a very good story

How great, it is sensational to find so much diversity thanks to the friends of this community that unite so many writers of diverse imaginations. Greetings and good morning.

Congratulations @jackdeathblack! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ Meetings Contest