theinkwell fiction challenge | A Nation's Reality

in The Ink Well4 years ago

It was a hot morning. The sun was up and shining so bright it made one dizzy. Honestly it was giving me a bit of a headache and I had a long day ahead of me.

I had opened my shop for the day and paced around waiting for customers.

None came.

Not that I expected them to. The country's economy had seen a rapid decline these past few months, and people could barely afford necessities these days let alone luxuries.

Many had gone out of work lately, and the number of the homeless was on the rise. It certainly wasn't the best time to be an interior decorator.

I had a shop filled with luxury items that even I wouldn't spend money on given the current economic realities. Seriously, who would want to write a cheque for a pretty painting, when the price of milk in the market was 6 figures.

Idle moments led to boredom and in these dull times I'd often reminisce on the past. My childhood, my teenage years, my time in the police force, my dismissal and subsequent return to civilian life.

I remember the ideals of the nation when I was younger. I remember the long speeches the old men in power gave, talking about honesty, hard work and love for one's country.

I remember that these ideals inspired me to join the police force, ready to lay down everything to ensure the nation's bright future came to be.

Unfortunately this bright future was never to be. Actions spoke louder than words in the lives of the politicians who spoke about honesty but were never honest. They talked about hard work but it was never a criteria in their administration. It mattered less what you accomplished, and more who you knew.

Decades of mismanagement turned the nation upside down. There were protests, then riots and when society started sliding towards anarchy, the military intervened.

The new military dictators weren't any better than the civilian administration they ousted. The situation in the country went from bad to worse and corruption became a way of life.

I remember noticing some odd behaviour among some of my colleagues in the force. Questionable actions which made me suspicious and start asking questions.

A little while after, someone showed up with a briefcase filled with cash giving me an offer I didn't fully understand. I declined and a week later I was no longer a member of the force.

It was only after the military junta came into power that I learned about the shady business going on at my former precinct. The head of the precinct and some officers were involved with some criminal elements. Their pockets got filled with money from the crime lords and in return they looked the other way.

The cash in the briefcase had been hush money and when I refused to take it, I got into the bad books of the crooked officers. When they felt that I wasn't ready to play their way, they got me out of the force.

As I sat down contemplating on this sorry tale, I wondered when things would change. When our nation would become the beauty that was promised us in the days of our youth.

I wondered when the day would come when we would be proud to call ourselves citizens.

I continued wondering these things but unfortunately no answer seemed to come.


Author's Note

This is an entry to theinkwell fiction challenge hosted by @theinkwell .


Image credits Pixabay, @jacksondavies