Theinkwell fiction challenge | The butterflies flutter again.

in The Ink Well4 years ago


spencerbackman1KdD2iBlnRIunsplash.jpg

Photo by Spencer Backman on Unsplash


The butterflies flutter again

I have never felt so much nervous as now, the proximity of your skin to mine makes me feel butterflies in my stomach. Waiting so long for this moment, and now, I feel vertigo when being so close to you, thick drops drip between my hands, and an uncomfortable humidity is shockingly noticeable through my green shirt, especially in the armpits.

The heat on the face gives away the blush, I'm afraid you will speak, so many times I rehearsed the speech for an occasion like this, and now, a cloud of embarrassment makes it difficult to flow through my mouth the words.

"Did someone say you have something important to tell me?"

I always saw her so far away from me, unreachable. For years we only exchanged fleeting glances, it is the first time, it is a dream about to come true, but stuttering is about to reappear inopportunely, I thought I had overcome it long ago, perhaps I cannot declare my love to you.

"What's the matter? Aren't you going to answer me?"

The depth and intensity of the brightness of her light gray eyes make me fall into a swirl of mixed emotions. My blurred vision distorts the beautiful silhouette and I feel my legs faint.

"What's the matter? You're pale as a mottled paper with a slight reddish tint!"

I listen to her tenuously, I want to tell her that I love her, that I have always loved her since I first saw her in kindergarten, but I can't move my lips. Where I am?

"You are here with me. Easy, I have always loved you too, for as long as I can remember."

"Yes!" I feel the soul return to my body.

"I had already given up hope that you would decide to declare your love to me."

"Yes!" I nodded in surprise

"I don't understand, why are you so nervous?" I will not eat you!

"No!" I nodded again.

"I hope we take advantage of the time. We have lost a lot."

"Yes!" I immediately reply as an automaton.

I suddenly see everything blurred again, several people around me, especially her, a tear falls on my face.

"I thought you had a kind of heart attack." She said with relief.

I understood, passed out, a panic attack, so all the words I heard are only in my mind. However, her tears, sweet as honey, reveals to me that she is at least concerned about me.

"How can I not pass out?" I replied.

Probably the blow when falling drove the stutterer out me, and that dream was not such. It is a revelation, the harbinger of the silent feeling between us, a reciprocated love, driven away by the fears and insecurities of youth.

"Do you love me as I do?"

"What a way to declare your love! Silly! From kindergarten." I heard her tell me.

I feel my heartbeat strongly, but something had changed forever in me as the butterflies flutter again, their lips resting on mine as a sign of the manifestation of love.

The end.


image.png

An original drabbler by @janaveda

Thanks for reading me. I hope this micro-fiction is to your liking. I would very much like to read your comments in this regard to enrich myself with your criticism.

image.png

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Beautiful love story.
Butterflies will always be in the stomach of lovers

Hello @marcybetancourt,

You're right. I am pleased that the short story is to your liking.

Thank for stopping by.

Love is the trophy of life

How wonderful that they finally can admit their love for one another after all those years.

Hello @jayna,

How many similar stories like this will there be in the world?

I just hope they decide soon, time does not forgive.

Thank you for stopping by.