You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Exceptional Gift

in The Ink Well2 years ago

What is Khèri getting herself into? There is much to run from, and something intriguing to run to, but at what cost? Very interesting story, @ghostonchronic!

I saw in one of your comments that this is a chapter. That's fine, since it stands on its own. But in case you aren't aware, The Ink Well only accepts short stories. (No chapter books or serial stories.) You can see the details in our community rules at the top of the home page.

It's great that you've dusted this off and brought it into the light! I have a number of old stories that I'm fine-tuning years later. It's fun to see what you wrote at another phase of your life, isn't it?

Sort:  

Thanks @jayna for your comment and for taking the time to read my story.

I have a psychological thriller in the works, based around Khèri and the Kolofi community in Ghoston. The content isn't suitable for The Ink Well and I wasn't intending on releasing it in chapter form.

I edited the chapter heavily to be in line with the prompt's rules. This was quite a useful exercise as I had to shrink the chapter size significantly, while still trying to keep to the original flow and structure.

That's awesome, @ghostonchronic. I find that to be an interesting exercise too. It forces you to eliminate extraneous words, which generally makes a story stronger.