You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Halo of Thorns 7- Microfiction in the Age of the Coronavirus

in The Ink Well4 years ago

Great book. Very powerul. I love it when an author shakes us out of the here and now imagines a future so frightening and yet hopeful.

I think about that book a lot, as we move through this pandemic crisis. the coronavirus is nowhere near as deadly as whatever took the lives of millions and millions of people across the globe in that book. And yet. Do we want to test it? Are we going to be so glib, that we don't feel responsible for what we do today, right now, to avoid human contact and help to stem the tide.

Sort:  

Great insight @jayna. The story is wonderful and not at all what I was expecting. You're right, the coronavirus is not as deadly, at least not yet. Viruses mutate and if this particular virus comes in waves, then we're in for a long ride. Crossing my fingers that I'm wrong. Thanks for dropping by!