You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mated souls

in The Ink Well3 years ago

This is so delightful, and it had me laughing out loud, @stormcharmer. There are so many humorous bits.

That afternoon, the little girl held the ball of fur in pudgy arms and asked. Of course, she asked. “Wasshiss name, Missuss?” Due to her missing front tooth, it actually sounded like, “Whathith name, Mithuth?” Normal, social adults probably found that cute and endearing.

Those kinds of details really bring a story to life and involve the reader. Beautifully done.

But... by my count you have 140 words here, and could easily give us the name of that black cat.

Sort:  

140? ha ha!
No - it is 750 exactly. I checked many many times. 😅

Odd.
I checked 4 times before posting. Now it is showing as 754 words. I have no idea how that happened? Maybe I copied part of the unsplash text? ha ha! I don't know. I know that I was methodical about making sure it was exactly 750, and now it will drive me mad wondering how it happened!

image.png
@jayna - you see?
750 on the dot. However, when I copy and paste the words from this post, it says 754. ha ha! I'm confuddled! 😅

So funny. I am befuddled as well. Not that it matters, as it's just a fun exercise, but I have tried two different word counting methods, and I get 740 (Google Docs) and 741 (Microsoft Word). What are you using, @stormcharmer?

Google Docs:
image.png

Word:

image.png