I kissed it to the dust

in The Ink Well18 days ago
"Jeclyn! Where are you? We need you." The screaming voice of Jude ran into my ears. I wasn't predisposed at that moment to meet up.

"I will be there in a short time," I lied with gritted teeth. It was the last phase of being at a tertiary institution. I had my project to defend.

pexels-cottonbro-4270165.jpg
source

My group partners were the ones I could describe as carefree. They needed the work to be done while they enjoyed the fruit.

It's been six months since the strike began for academy staff at tertiary institutions. Tired of staying at home and being a liability? I sourced for a job.

Five months down the line, school resumes activities. Successfully with my final exams, then finally to face my project defense. Stress was my second name, and it could be vividly seen on my body. I lost 6kg.

I had taken some excuses for my final exams, but for my project defense, my boss wasn't having it.

System cracked dead, with little hope to type. I ended up using my phone.

"Construction of a dental mechanical mixer using locally sourced material" was my research topic.

Another day of lying; it will come a time when I will be left behind and tagged unserious.

"Hello, ma, please, I have an emergency. Could you come to the office?" I spoke to my boss on the phone, hoping she could understand my struggle.

"Jeclyn, don't even try to step away from the company unless you're fired," my boss yelled over the phone. My heart sank into my stomach with the continuous tapping of my foot.

I knew something was at stake, but was I going to risk my five years of being in school at the last minute just for a job where I was paid peanuts?

The decision was in my court. My dad had advice for me to quit while I focused on my project, but then I just couldn't have it. I was stubborn.

The next day, the call came again from my partner's, which made my heart keep throbbing within. I had nothing to tell them. They needed my attention, but I couldn't give it to them. It was something to be done together, not on a phone call.

I felt uneasy even in my sleep. I saw myself failing the exam I wrote in my dreams. My mind ran with several thoughts.

The intensity of the sun poured down like it could boil water. I stood with a hand on my waist, walking from one end to the other at the customer reception.

"Calm down, Jeclyn," my colleague compensated me, but I wasn't having it. I felt I had missed a lot by being absent from my group.

An idea popped into my head.

"Let's play a trick on my boss," I suggested to my colleague, who listened with keen interest.

Since my boss wasn't allowing me to leave even after persuading her, I had to do it my own way.

I whisper into his ears while he gently brings out his phone.

"Hello, ma," he greeted.

"Jeclyn left for school, and there is no one in the office." I could hear the panic in her voice, and she immediately responded that she was on her way.

The only option to drag her out.

I carefully packed up my stuff and waited at the gate. From afar, I spotted her car and immediately entered a cab.

Waiting for her to come closer was another trick I couldn't risk at the moment. As expected, my phone buzzed, and it was her. I ignored her, knowing she was going to scold me until the end.

"I'm so sorry, guys." I apologize. Looking from one face to the other, all I could see was disappointment written vividly on their faces.

"Let's do this this way," I strategized with my partners.

"We have to get a questionnaire done," Jude suggested. It was all me moving from one cyber cafe to the other down to the hospital. The efficiency of the machine needed to be tested.

My legs were itching with so much pain from standing and walking around, but I needed to fix this while I waited for what might come of me the next day at my workplace.

10 p.m. was gone, but I wasn't home yet. The thoughts of going home at that time of the night along a lonely path ran cold down my spine. But I had to risk it.

The next day was torn apart by scolding, and insults rained upon me. I had a cut in my salary. I knew it was going to come to that, but then it was a conclusion. I was boldly facing the consequences. My job was in line with my future.

I chose my academics first, but after so much deliberation, I retained my job, but my salary was gone. The sacrifices I had to make. I kissed it to the dust.

Sort:  

That was tough and I could feel all that pressure while trying to save your job and your future at the same time.

I am glad the consequences for leaving your place of work wasn't more than just the salary deduction but your madam didn't try ooo. She should at least be considerate and you guys can find a way to work things out.

She had to make up for it, somehow I didn't loose though but just a slight cut.

Your story reminds me of something I have always thought, priorities in life emerge in the moments when duties and dreams conflict, and even if you have to choose, one thing is for sure, you will not regret what you sacrifice, if you choose what you like the most.

My regret was getting a job. A job that cost me every bit of everything. My attention, my time, energy and so much more... But then I just couldn't stay without doing something.

Choices. Often people cannot make them and remain paralyzed by uncertainty until fate determines the choice for them. A choice has been made for sure, but perhaps not the best one. You showed in your story the struggle of making a choice. Either path you chose would have consequences. You had to have the courage to decide which consequences you were willing to live with. It would seem to most readers that you made a good choice. You were weighing your future against present rewards, and your future won out.

You do a good job of pulling us into your emotional turmoil. You offer conflict, and a clear resolution. Well done (good story arc).

Thank you for sharing this with us, @jeclyn60.

Thank @theinkwell for honest review. I keep getting better and I can't wait to reach that height I have always wanted.