Above the clouds

in The Ink Well2 years ago


pexels-photo-325185.jpeg
Fuente by Aleksandar Pasaric

That night the excitement was felt in my stomach, sleep was impossible to fall asleep, I had spent my whole life wanting to do what my father did, after several years saving enough money, my mother wanted to give me a gift that would help me to know a little of my father, who in life practiced paragliding as a sport, something my mother always told me that made him happy. I was 21, but I felt like a little kid, excited about what would happen the next morning.

The day arrived and after a long trip of 5 hours, which seemed endless, we reached a hill where we walked for several minutes to get to the top, in the company of some experts, it was just at this moment, when the excitement turned into fear and my stomach began to churn a little, but at this point there was no turning back and I really wanted to feel why that caused so much joy to my father. One of the guys who was securing my leashes, looked at me in amazement saying that I was very much like my father, I really hope so, because dad was an amazing man.

I was afraid, but at the same time I was anxious, my mother was too because, you know that for mom you will always be a little boy, however she was brave just so I could enjoy the moment as much as possible. I was accompanied by another guy whose face I do not remember, when we got down from that place, I felt for a moment that I became very small because of the air pressure, but after a few seconds, I could experience one of the best experiences of my life, everything looked beautiful around, the trees, the birds and the clouds, but when I passed through them, something happened for which I was not prepared.


pexels-photo-10819066.jpeg
Fuente by Fabian Reck

Everything turned white around me, I thought that as soon as we went down a little more, I would see everything around me again, but it was not like that, when I wanted to ask my partner why we had been flying through the clouds for so long, he did not answer, I realized that I was alone and I did not know at what moment it happened. Fear began to invade me and I could not help but imagine that something bad was going to happen to me, but a few minutes later the clouds became lighter and I could see beyond them. To my surprise I was in a very different place from the one I had left minutes before, the colors seemed more intense and all around me the birds kept me company, while their beautiful song disappeared softly in the wind.

I didn't know what was happening, I could see from up close huge and beautiful buildings that seemed to be from a totally different time, much more advanced, but in spite of them there were trees and flowers everywhere, and the breeze was such that I could pass through it all without going down to the ground yet, I wasn't prepared for this but something told me that was exactly what dad felt every time, I was alone enjoying everything I saw around me, I could only think how happy my father had been every time he flew through the air.

From above everything seems to take more shape and color and the world seems to become a very different place than the one I was walking on, I was thankful for having been there for having known this nice feeling that I will keep inside me during all my life, it is not only the memory of what my father used to do, now I know how good he felt while he was able to do it, now it is true that to fly free in the skies you only need some straps and a good parachute that allows you to walk through the buildings, when my mother answered she didn't believe me, but she was surprised how my story was exactly the same as my father's, flying among the clouds makes you have a different perspective, because when you pass through them the world becomes different.

Encabezado de correo electrónico 600x200 px (2).gif

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jemima1996 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

There is a lovely evocation of scene and emotion in this story, @jemima1996. The protagonist goes on a journey that is greater than paragliding. It is a journey into the past, into the experience of her father. She accomplishes through this one act a connection that might not have been possible for her for the rest of her life.

Thank you for sharing this story with us. We appreciate that you read and comment on the stories of other authors in the community.

Thank you very much for supporting me and for your comments, most of the time the best way to get to know someone is just to follow them and that's the way it is.

Thank you for taking the time to comment, it is a pleasure for me.

You wrote a nice story that brings back memories of a loved one, how nice it sure was for this boy to have felt what his dad felt, he surely understood many things he had been wondering for years, I liked the story you wrote Jemi.

Thank you very much, it is really necessary sometimes to put yourself in the shoes of others to understand not only their pain but also their joys. Thank you for your comment, greetings and a hug.

What a shock to realize that he was alone. Sometimes I imagine that feeling, flying like that. Your short story has helped me feed my imagination about that, and I hope you keep writing. Regards @jemima1996

Thank you very much, yes, sometimes thinking about the sensations that we could experience leads us to let our imagination fly. Thanks for your support.

Congratulations, @jemima1996! Your story is part of this week's featured author magazine.
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@theinkwell/the-ink-well-highlights-magazine-73

Wao, what a nice news, thank you so much for taking me into consideration for this, it means a lot to me.

Beautiful story, @jemima1996. I have never gone hang gliding, but I have been skydiving. It was a crazy rush until my parachute opened, and then gliding down was the most amazing experience. Your story reminded me of that feeling of being free and almost in another world. It's magical.

It's how I imagine it feels, I haven't practiced any, but it must feel great, how wonderful that you enjoyed doing it, thanks for stopping by my post, have a great day.