An old cabin and a beautiful song - Story

in The Ink Well2 years ago


pexels-photo-3551248.jpeg
Fuente by Aleksey Kuprikov

Every day I walked through the same place, hurrying my pace to get to the office where I used to work on time, it was a long road that was empty in the mornings, along which the trees waved their branches vigorously and with a fresh breeze accompanied me to the end of the road. Due to the wet ground, there were no houses in this part, only an old hut that was totally abandoned and of which nature itself took over, for on it grew all kinds of creepers and plants, some of them even peeping out of the window.

Years ago it belonged to a kind old man, who used to sit at the entrance to greet everyone who passed by, until he could no longer and had to move with his family because they needed his care. Since then only the memory and a little melancholy remained, remembering my school days when with a kind smile, that friendly old man would give me a "good morning" so sincere, that made you immediately have a great day.


Fuente by Pixabay

In spite of having these feelings inside me, not even in my childhood and adolescence and much less in my adult years, has it ever crossed my mind to approach that old cabin, so I just looked at it out of the corner of my eye and went on my way, it had become part of my routine until suddenly something changed. This day was especially cold so I was wearing a rather thick jacket that made an annoying noise every time I walked, breaking the silence of that long and lonely road, suddenly in the distance the sound of my jacket was paid by a sweet voice humming one of my favorite songs.

I was really in a hurry, but I couldn't help but stop to listen to where that sweet voice was coming from, And of course it was coming from the old cabin that I never dared to approach, Only this time a part of me rushed without thinking to the cabin, wishing to know Because someone would be there, a part of me felt afraid, but the other felt fascinated, after all I had never met a person who enjoyed that song as much as I did.

As I got closer I realized that the plants completely surrounded the place, there was no way to look out the windows, however, I don't know where I looked. How is migration, the impeccable work that nature had done, from close up it looks like one of those old abandoned places that I used to see in magazines when I was a kid. While I was distracted looking closely at the cabin, I realized that the voice was gone, one minute I thought I had imagined it all and remembered I had to go to work, but behind me a loud shout made me jump.

-What are you doing here?

I didn't know what to answer him, I couldn't believe that a person was living there, but I felt very embarrassed to have been caught snooping around, so, after apologizing I continued my way to work, But my thoughts stayed in that place for the whole day. A woman with some paint stains on her clothes had come out of that old cabin that I thought was uninhabited, I couldn't see her face well because her hair was covering it, but what I did know was that, I hadn't imagined, that woman was humming my favorite song.


pexels-photo-2734422.jpeg
Fuente by Elijah O'Donnell

I was still intrigued back home by everything that had happened in the morning, so I decided to approach her to apologize, although I also had the intention of knowing who a song had united me in some way. I stood a few meters away and waved, I waited a few seconds and then I saw the mysterious woman open the door, this time her clothes were completely covered with paint, behind her I could see the most beautiful thing I have ever seen in my life, it was a mini art gallery that looked great with the design of that old cabin, maybe on the outside it looked like an abandoned place, but inside it was full of the work of a great artist.

I apologized again for the incident and without being able to avoid it I dared to talk to her a little about the paintings that were behind her, I thought this would make her uncomfortable but, she was flattered and told me a little about them, she was an intelligent and creative person that worked doing what she loved, all this time I thought the place was empty by just looking at what I wanted "an abandoned place" by that day I realized that people who have art in their blood, appreciate the beauty of the smallest thing and make it their own, no matter what others think.

Since that day I left my job at the office, I had some savings and I felt motivated to dedicate myself to what I like, music, that woman who let out the most beautiful art, had inspired me to let it out to me too, since then we became good friends and that beautiful cottage painted by nature, became a fascinating place to let the imagination flow.

Encabezado de correo electrónico 600x200 px (2).gif

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jemima1996 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I want to thank you for that inspiring story. I was spellbound by your narrative. The way you described the old man, the cabin, your despondent spirit--and then the song, and splash of color. It's as though you had lost track of your own spirit and this painterly woman with a sweet song helped you to find it again.

This is a great reminder to all of us: pay attention to who we are and what we love. Don't let life get away.

Hello dear @agmoore how glad I am that you enjoyed the reading, your words encourage me to keep on working hard and it makes me happy to know that I was able to convey in it what I wanted, thank you for reading it and for taking the time to leave me such a nice comment.

This is a wonderful story, @jemima1996. It is rich in description and heart. The character arc is extremely powerful. You take the narrator on a journey to self realization.

We ask that writers in the Inkwell read and comment on the stories of at least two other authors in the community. It seems that someone with your insight would have valuable perspectives to offer. Thank you.

Wao, I'm so glad you liked the story, your encouraging words mean a lot to me, it was a pleasure to share it with you.

We could easily say that music was the link of a fascinating story between a colorful woman and a curious visitor who gave life to a special encounter and in an unexpected place 🙂
Excellent plot from beginning to end my friend @jemima1996
Thanks for sharing this wonderful story with us 👏👏 Greetings to you 👋👋

Dude, how cool that you liked my story, it's like that, that song led the main character of the story to meet a person who reminded him of what he loved to do, thanks to you, for stopping by and reading my post 😊.

Wow. This reminds me of my passions I haven't gone for. Just like she sparked the fire in you to go for what you loved, I think you did same here. Transferred passion like an alert that motivates. Thank you.