Akin and Loveth

in The Ink Well29 days ago
“This is the seventh time Akin would be mentioning Loveth’s name in his sleep. Could his twin be reaching out to him?” I asked my husband, Pelumi worriedly. He had previously discarded my worries with an excuse of me being overly concerned but experiencing the last episode where our son, Akin of nine years kept calling out Loveth and smiling sheepishly, his twin whom nobody has ever told him about making him realize the weight of my concerns.


Pelumi sat at the dining table with his both arms under his chin while his elbows rested on the table. He was lost in thought and wallowed in the dead silence that ensued and saturated the atmosphere.


"Nobody knows about Loveth other than your twin sister and her husband," Pelumi said in low whispers after a while, even though Akin was away at school. "He looked like he was playing with Loveth in his sleep, but how come? Pelumi asked rhetorically.


"I'm equally confused. Even if he was to find out about his twin, it is too early. My sister, Kemi would feel I betrayed our agreement to let her foster Loveth till she's mature enough." I said, nodding my head sideways.


"When he's back, we'll ask him to be sure," Pelumi concluded. He stood up and walked into the room while I went into the kitchen to tidy up the dishes. I knew Akin would soon be home from school, it was customary for me to get his meal ready before his arrival. We enrolled him in extramural coaching after school hours, but his grades had never been encouraging up to date despite our efforts. Akin was never much of a talker, we noticed he was mostly quiet and reserved, having only casual friends even in school. We blamed it on not having other children who could have Akin more outspoken.


I held Akin in my arms as he sat on my thigh, continuously patting him gently on his back while Pelumi sat on a plastic chair, opposite the bed I sat on with Akin.

"Akin, tell us about Loveth, is she your friend?" Pelumi asked as calmly as he could.

"No, Loveth is my sister, she says so every time," Akin replied, his fingers fidgeting.

Pelumi and I froze at that instant. Many thoughts ran through collided in my mind, wondering particularly how Akin and Loveth connected. My eyes met with Pelumi's gaze he was equally dumbfounded but tried as much as not to show it.

"So, Loveth is your sister?" Pelumi continued.

"Yes Daddy, she says she's the only friend that I can have," Akin replied, avoiding his father's eyes.

"Oh, I see, Alright. Is this why you don't have friends in school?" I asked Akin almost in a whisper. He nodded as though he was shy.

"Okay, freshen up and get some rest," Pelumi said to Akin and signaled to me to join him outside of Akin's room.


We stepped out of the house, into the open where Akin could not hear us.


"Call Kemi, your sister, and explain to him what has been happening to Akin. It's painful she has no child of her own and we gave Loveth to her in good faith to pacify her pains. Separating the twins is not helping Akin." My husband said.


I knew he said the truth and though I tried avoiding the topic with my twin, it was one we needed to trash out. "Alright, dear. I'll put a call through at once." I responded. I picked up my phone and dialed Kemi's line. She picked up the call and after exchanging pleasantries, I narrated all that had been happening in Akin's life. She was mostly quiet throughout the conversation except for a few responsive comments.


"To be candid, this is the same attitude Loveth has been exhibiting for a while. I think it's best we let both stay together. It breaks my heart seeing Loveth be a shadow of her true self." Kemi said after I narrated all I wanted to.

I was very glad the idea sprung from her for I worried about how best I'd brush the topic. "Ok dear, is this weekend fine?" I asked.

"Perfect!" She responded.




By the next weekend, Pelumi, Akin, and I traveled down to Akure which is about five hour's journey by road. We didn't tell Akin anything about the journey other than that we were going for a weekend vacation. We got to Akure in the late afternoon and headed to my sister's house. She was expecting us and it was the weekend, we had all the time to spend together. Akin didn't ask questions or show any inquisitiveness.


When we got to the house, I noticed Akin looking intently at his environment as though he was familiar with it. He stood for a while and surveyed the carpet-green grass space in the compound, turning his gaze from one side of the house to another. Kemi and her husband came out shortly after to welcome us and behind them was Loveth, my daughter, and Akin's twin.


Akin and Loveth stood and stared at each other for an awkward few minutes before Akin took the first step towards his sister. She walked up to him also and stopped just a step from each other.

"Loveth?" Akin asked.

"Akin!" Loveth replied.


source

Akin and Loveth hugged each other while yet at the compound as we all adults watched the emotional connection between both siblings. Akin became more lively from that moment and both twins began to talk initially in low tones until we heard their loud laughter from their room. I was surprised how Akin's countenance lightened up. We disclosed to both twins their bond and pleased their forgiveness.


After that weekend, we arranged for Loveth's transfer to Akin's school and sent both of them to my sister's place during the holidays. Their academic results miraculously picked up. It was a great relief seeing the twins bond passionately.

Sort:  

The union of these twins has been fortuitous, despite the parents' doubts, the considerations were stronger this time. I'm glad to hear that. Thank you for sharing this history.

Thank you for your kind comments. Some bonds are better left untouched

In most cases bonds between twins are as strong as depicted in this piece. Excellent writeup. It's such emotional writeup with excellent use of words to convey the feelings. I'm glad the twins finally met, after all the dreams and fear. At first I thought Akin's twin was dead, glad to know they got to live together again. Welldone 👍👍👍👍🤗🤗🤗

Thank you very much. Truly, such bonds are inseparable

You're welcome 🤗

TIW_Com2_Banner.jpg

Thank you very much. I'm grateful

A story of twins with a strong emotional connection that not even distance could overcome, a very beautiful story.

Thanks for sharing your story with us.
Good day.

Thank you for your kind words, I'm grateful