Forewarned (creative nonfiction)

in The Ink Well8 months ago (edited)
The very first car I drove since 2009 has been within the family, now given to my brother to drive around. The car was a Honda Accord and belonged to my mom, but, being the mommy's boy that I am, it didn't cause me much hassle to hijack the car from her, and many people in college knew me with the car. I loved the car, and I made sure I cruised it for about 10 years before giving it to my brother to use. I was actually tired of the car since it gave me difficult times that required me to reach the mechanic.

By 2017, my older brother had given me his car for a little token, which I barely paid back. This was one moment I knew my family would let go, even when it wasn't convenient. It was an SUV Volkswagen, which brought me much comfort and class. Little did I know that the Volkswagen car would not last beyond three years. The gear box was compromised, and after several attempts to fix it, I had to sell off the car at a ridiculously cheap price. After the sale of the car, I resorted to trekking or public transportation, though with a prayer for a miracle.

My colleague had always desired to own a car, to act like a boss, and he gathered money to buy a car. He began to take steps, such as joining cooperative societies, all with the intention of sourcing funds for the new project.

On one Friday evening, while on transit to Ilorin, I got a message notification from my colleague, and he sent me an SMS, which I hurriedly opened. "
"I have just bought a Murano Jeep for ₦980, 000." I received his SMS notification, and immediately I knew his purchase was done in haste. I sent him congratulatory messages to commend his rejoicing. After settling down at the quarters from my journey, I went to see my colleague to congratulate him formally. He was not too happy, but he sounded optimistic. He told me that the car was giving me headaches and that he wished he had not bought it.
Barely two months later, his dream of riding in an SUV car was dashed, and he had to resell the car at a 50% loss. It was painful, but I had to sit down to counsel him, to which he obliged. I narrated the ordeals I encountered while driving my already-sold SUV Volkswagen and advised him to stay away from buying until he had attained significant corrections.
Shock, however, was unfinished with me, as my colleague had barely used it for months before he opted for another car.

pexels-photo-5086489.jpeg

source

This time around, he bought a Honda car with a lot of space behind it. I was hurt that a medical doctor could be very gullible. I made a mockery of himself, saying the car looked like a matchbox. He gave me the car to drive, which he grudgingly accepted. Immediately, I laid my hands on the steering wheel for a test drive, and I told him to return the car immediately. He paused for a moment, and I wondered what he thought about.

"Alright then," he responded.

He returned the car as advised and remained carless for the period of his remaining stay, which was about 3 months. I saw his reactions whenever the car was brought up by the staff at our workplace. He was not particularly moved, even though it was evident on his face that he had gone through a lot.

"Next time, buy a confirmed Tokunbo car; it will give you fewer worries." I advised. He stayed for more than a year without using a car. And when he bought the third car, I was pleased he took his time before committing such funds.

Sort:  

Making haste in buying a car is not the way to go. It's better to do a proper research and ask the input of colleagues who have more experience about it. The technical details is what shuts down my mind when it comes to cars, they seem many and hard to understand.

There are lessons I have learned about cars that I won't even wish for an enemy

Yes, it's complicated and few really understand it.

I glad you friend listened to you when you told him to return the car, if not that car would have giving him hell. You are indeed a good friend, for supporting his dream of getting a car advice him on which car to purchase.

Rather than make a quick rush to buy things such as cars, it's vital to take a pause and get good advice