From the rubbles

in The Ink Well17 days ago
"You will not be promoted even on probation!" My dad said it firmly, and though I did not have a full grasp of what probation meant, I understood the 'not promoted' part. I was hurt, especially because the friends I had and played with would be leaving me behind for a new set of people in elementary school; the nursery was right before the primary one. What do you expect of children? I was quick to forget the hurt, and soon enough, I found new friends in my new class. I started school a bit late; it was a precondition to have one's right hand fingers touch the left year before one was permitted to be near the walls of a school. Notwithstanding, I remained significantly playful, and my grades yet again fell below average as I was mostly out of the classroom rather than inside as a result of the inability of my parents to pay the tuition fees early, even though it was a public school. It was that bad financially for us as a family! My primary school was a by-product of the university that was founded in 1975, the University of Ilorin. Most students were the offspring of the university community. Just a few of us were children of parents outside of the university community, and some benefits were not accruing, or at least, the children of the staff were expected to do better than the 'foreign' ones like me among them.

<br

"Tall, taller, tallest." Kemi, one of my classmates, said with all excitement in response to Mrs. Adebayo, who happened to teach us English in primary two.

The class gave Kemi a resounding clapping ovation as Mrs. Adebayo gave an approving nod to the answer Kemi gave.

"James, stand up." Mrs. Adebayo, the plump and dark-skinned tutor in her late forties, pointed at me. She still had on her face the smile of pride from Kemp's right answer.

I stood to my feet, reciprocating the smile with confidence. I was one of the most popular in class, playful mostly though.

"Good, gooder, goodest." I replied confidently to the comparative and superlative questions. The whole class burst into laughter, which was reciprocated with a smile of accomplishment. However, the swift change in Mrs. Adebayo's expression gave me goosebumps. I knew right there something was amiss, and the laughter I thought was friendly was contrary.

"You need to do better, James. Your answer is wrong. Sit down." She said this and called another classmate, who gave the correct answer as "good, better, best." My head was mostly bowed in shame. I felt a consciousness of my colleagues' continued laughter at me, even though life had moved on for them.




My life in school was better managed three years later. My uniforms were mostly neat, even though I had just two pairs I wore on alternate days. My parents went the extra mile to engage a private tutor for me after my usual school hours. It was a huge sacrifice from them, and the least I could do was reflect it on my result card. My position in the academic ladder accelerated significantly, and even though I was not the topmost, I was counted.

My dad called me to his side one evening and commended me for my hard work in school. He had followed up with my performance and was proud of my feats, as he attested often.

"There have been some controversies in your school. You are being nominated to be the head boy, but some staff claim you are not a child of the university staff community. The principal has assured me, however, that she will do all it takes in her position to see that you become the head boy." My dad said to me: I was a little over ten years old, and I already understood the politics in school management that my dad revealed to me.

"It's fine, dad; I'm not worried about the position. If it's mine, I'll have it nevertheless." I replied. I knew I wanted it, but I didn't want it at the detriment or convenience of anybody. My stakes became higher because of how well my academics had progressed.

When I resumed the final class, primary six, I was shocked to my marrow to be announced as the head boy. I knew I had a lot of responsibilities and expectations. Rather than wallow in pride and accomplishments, I continued to strive for the best.

source

I realized I missed out on opportunities to represent my school in a few competitions, but I accepted it as the fate of the common man's child. My dad, however, kept encouraging me, and eventually I ranked fourth in the overall class of about eighty students. I knew I was not the star student, but I needed to keep trying. I was not selected to represent the school for a scholarship examination at the Gifted Academy, Suleja. The high school was a federal government scholarship-funded school, and I knew it would be a succor to my parents, especially financially. My dad went ahead and registered me at a private school in his village in a rural area, and I wrote the examination without the permission of my school. We sat for the national common entrance examination (my classmates and I), and when the results came out, I ranked second in the whole state. The Gifted Academy examination result also came out, and I was among the five students selected from my state based on merit, while the two representatives from my school did not make the list.


The moment was for me; I was star struck! I was the head boy, and my academic achievements were the icing on the cake.

Sort:  

I know that each time you look back, you are very proud of what you accomplished. Now look at you having all these feats in your life. You shall continue to succeed in all that you do.

Well done.

Amendeae, thanks to God, to my parents, family and friends who believed in me

How good it is to feel proud of your accomplishments achieved through your own efforts and with the encouragement of your parents. You must have felt very happy and so did they

Excellent story @jjmusa2004. Regards

Of course I feel thankful and glad. Thank you for your kind comment my dear friend

Inspiring story @jjmusa2004! Very well deserved and earned.

Thank you for your kind words. I'm grateful

That's amazing :) I can only imagine how well you did there, you should be very proud 🙌

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

Thank you very much for your kind words. I'm grateful

Great! You have done well for yourself and deserve all the accolades. Well done.