TheInkwell Poetry Challenge - Week 10 - Through

in The Ink Well4 years ago (edited)


Participating in the poetry challenge of #TheInkWell is a very welcome action for me. According to the options of week 10, I have decided to attend with the number 2: journey, in memory of the poet Constantine Cavafy. Greetings.


Ulysses and the Mermaids: a piece of Attica pottery; 480-470 B.C. British Museum Source


Through


Ithaca was still a wish.
I had gone to it and returned to it
many times.
But he was still in his sleep,
like an ungraspable Ulysses,
while Penelope's passion
challenged him.

Even from his desk
of old clerk,
Cavafy was on his way,
the one that doesn't end
and in it he wanted to be always another.

Ithaca was his daily street of Alexandria,
or Troy or Constantinople.
It was the through, the way,
their only destination.


Photo by Tirza van Dijk on Unsplash Source


Grateful for your attention.

You can check the rules of the rest here

Sort:  

The journey is more important than the goal Constantino Cavafis

A jewel your poem dear friend, I am fascinated by the way you introduce the master Cavafis, you make a retrospective of Ithaca and the poet, receive my greetings and affections...✌️

please add your entry to the challenge post

I'd forgotten. Thanks for letting me know.

 4 years ago  

Ithaca will always be my favorite destiny...