You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Faith / Fe. The Ink Well Prompt #26: Winding road

in The Ink Well3 years ago

Hello @jadams2k18. What striking imagery accompanied my reading of your story. Although your characters were important to relay what happened and why they were caught in that situation, it was the the vivid descriptions of the desert and surrounding environment that captured my attention.

I found myself waiting for other animals or insects to cross his path. I could visualize the area because I traveled through West Texas, New Mexico, and Arizona on a road trip to California.

The decision the couple made for her to go on without him was a good one. He wouldn't have been able to leave her alone in the desert. When left alone in precarious situations, you can't help but have misgivings about your decisions. You replay in your mind alternate conclusions if things don't work out as planned.

I was hoping the stranger who appeared would do no harm. So happy it turned out well.

I thoroughly enjoyed your story. The crisp adjectives made the scene blossom for me.

Thanks for sharing your story.

Sort:  

Hello there! I'm glad you enjoyed the story, it wasn't just the heat that bothered the character, maybe he didn't even feel it, it was the fact that he was in a dilemma of moving on with his partner or going back to his old life.

 3 years ago  

Yes, I can see that now. Trying to make clear decisions when conditions are not right can add to frustration.

Thanks for your response. Take care.