Where the author gives some thoughts to shitposting and reposts a shitpost he posted on Steemit.

in The Ink Well4 years ago (edited)

So I decided to make a shitpost on Steem. After all I am still a user and can do what ever I want. This time the Whales can't hurt me, the community can't frown upon me. They can all downvote me and I wouldn't give a shit. Because... I am leaving.

So I started writing and what happens... I write a story that is not half bad. I mean... at least it is not shit, which is exactly the problem: It is as shitty as shitposts go - defying the very idea of shitposting. Shitting on shitposting. I can't even do that properly. The shitpost crumbles between my fingers like an ancient piece of camel faeces hidden in the Egyptian desert for decades, and then from that it grows into a small sapling of story essense risng from the dung.

Shit!

So now I might have to double post, but from the wrong direction so to speak. From Steem to Hive. So here it is the little story:


Torundel the shitposter logo.png

I

Torundel was tired of shit! His wife had finally moved into the manor house of her lover, Count B, but she still came and prepared supper for him. Poor Torundel. He looked down at the hamma seed and chuck breasts in a thick, white sauce and started to eat. He was hungry after all. Hadn't eaten since morning.

‘You wont believe what B bought me!’ his wife chattered.

‘I believe you,’ he said with his mouth full of hamma.

‘A cup! But not an ordinary cup! A cup made for an empress, thousands of years ago! I think… I think it was called… Houngrump!’ Her face radiated the deepest concentration trying to pronounce the difficult word.

‘Hungrump dynasty. 3466 to 3606,’ Torundel muttered while trying to avoid spilling white gravy on his purple dress. "An extraordinary period in human history. Not one of the five Emperors was a bad ruler! Sadly Numsegodt III had his head cut off by barbarians and then everything was back to its normal, shitty self with chaos and corruption.’

‘Count B is simply such a lovely darling! He treats me like I was a real lady, and I only have to give him access to my other hole once a day!’

Torundel was tired of shit!

Torundel the shitposter streg.png

Problem is that now I have started I feel I have to go on. What is going on in Torundel's life? where is he? what world is he on? I am terrible when it comes to such things - I can't let my imagination rest. Or probably the other way around. My imagination is annoying like shit. This is the reason I considered posting this to the world building community... But now I have chosen to try the Ink Well of Curie instead.

Read next episode

Sort:  

This is the problem when even your shit posts are better than what a lot of people managed to churn out. I think you should leave the Steem people hanging and carry on the story on Hive. Then they have an incentive to come over.

I will write a bit more on Steemit, but I am not sure anybody will see it except you and Nyarlathotep. Steemit is a ghost town and such places interest me, so for a while I will continue what I started, just to see what happens. I will also post it here of course.

I wrote a comment to a guy who wanted to create a anti-plagiarism and -votebuying system based on an AI. I find it both fascinating and sad. That whole thing was well established - now it has to be made all over again.

I still post there too and get some bites from people who want an argument. They can waste their time on me if they like. The abuse on Steemit is growing as nobody is really dealing with it. The biggest abuser is Steemit now :(

I felt sorry for that guy. All of it already existed, and now he wants to reinvent the wheel. So many well meaning people is being run over by the soldiers of fortune types in this microcosm - a picture of the world really.

SFR has not got properly running on Hive yet, but we should have the tools to do it. Other things like Cheetah are pretty good at detecting plagiarism, but you need human input as it can pick up things by the same person.

In the end a lot of the wrongs can only be manually handled - it has to be a community effort.

This is exactly the type of shit you can 100% feel free to cross-post to the Worldbuilding community - we'd love to see it get a home there as well!

I love the idea of a world building community. but haven't really understood how cross posting works. I will look into it tomorrow.

Oh shit! :)

I am hooked on Torundel already, is the lover of his wife an arch-enemy or just a random stranger? Does he like what he finds in certain... holes? So many questions, and where to answer them, here or there?

On a serious note, on de-evaluating the other place with shitposts... I don't find it nice, just a out-of-place revenge. It may indirectly & in the long-term hurt people that use that place for more than just having some fun.

Oh, hey again - just wrote a comment on Steemit. I will continue the story to see what happens.

As for the serious note, I agree, but I haven't seen anyone shitposting really. Just double posting which is OK as I see it. Most of us didn't have shit (!) to say in this division of the house. And we have at least learned that the decentralised money can be frozen and stolen if the miners want it that way...

I will keep posting this story on Steem just to see if anyone there notices. Somehow the desolate Steemit is a fascinating place.

Shitting on shitposting. I can't even do that properly.

What else can't you do properly? Because I am loving this improper shit.

I hope Torundel gets his shit together, falls in love with a fellow historian, and that self-centered ex-wife of his can finally finish taking her hike.

I hope Torundel gets his shit together, falls in love with a fellow historian, and that self-centered ex-wife of his can finally finish taking her hike.

I begin to hope that too, but I am only deciding from shitpost to shitpost. Just wrote a third part, but the strict concept of only 211 words is a bit tricky, so I will go over it tomorrow morning before I start drawing (which is my main thing). Happy that this thing can arouse interest.

I didn't realize you were shooting for exactly 211 words. Even better!

Rules are good for forcing you to go through the text more critically and to create some resistance. So when I decided to write the second part I just put together some rules from the first text. The word count, using the same sentence in the beginning and the end of the text.


The shitpost crumbles between my fingers like an ancient piece of camel faeces hidden in the Egyptian desert


This actual made me laugh haha.
I get the feeling man, shit posting is a special breed.

Actually I am not even sure if shit posting isn't an honourable and well established genre. I see people on other networks work hard to be brilliant shit posters - posting only for other shit posters to appreciate.

Hmmm new content - HIVE, old content - STEEM. Some of my old shit is actually decent shit though, some got @curie's, and only my older followers (like you) will have seen this old shit. We each have our own rules about it though.

To double post or not to double post - that is the question :)

Why not? For me, that question is answered. If I make another quarter on something that took me a week to write, I don't see the harm. It's nice to meet you.

I suppose you are right... This bagatelle will be at least as I started it in Steem. Happy to meet you too - I follow and will look at your blog tomorrow. It is midnight and I better get to bed,