You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Writing Tip #35: Characteristics of the Genres

in The Ink Well3 years ago

Ma'am, this is quite detailed and enlightening! I have bookmarked this post to study it further.

I have read novels from all these genres but favour fantasy, mystery and romance more.

When I write, I try to make sure my story falls within one of these genres. But is it okay to combine like two or three genres in a story? Now, the last story I wrote about angels, can't tell whether it falls into fantasy or sci-fi genre from the description of their characteristics here. 🤔

Hope to do better in my creative writing. Thank you this writing tip.

Sort:  

Yes, the genres are often mixed, @kemmyb. Particularly sci-fi and fantasy. There are also many "sun-genres" that have spun off of the main ones, so this is actually a simplistic view. I think the trick is to write the story in a way that integrates them seamlessly. If the story is interesting and readable, and the characters are interesting, the reader won't care what official genre it falls under. 😁