Walking Through The Yellow Door

in The Ink Well9 months ago

Mike walks into the class and notices that everyone is looking so gloomy. He starts singing, and all the students have a good laugh. His voice is so husky, coupled with the fact that he is singing off-key.

free-photo-of-yellow-vintage-door-in-building.jpeg

Source

Mike asks Peter, "Where is David?" Peter looks at Mike and shakes his head "No wonder you were making a fool of yourself up there; David has been missing since last Friday, and no one knows if he is still alive". Mike shouted "No! We must do something about it". Yes, the police are on it," Peter responded.

Mike picks up his phone and dials Peter's number. "Peter, good afternoon. Have you heard anything about David?" Mike asks. "I was about to call you Mike. They found David, but he is in a critical condition. I'm about to leave for the hospital". Peter, I will meet up with you at the bus station so we can go to the hospital together".
Mike and Peter got to the hospital, and on seeing their friend,tears rolled down their cheeks. They could not believe their eyes. On seeing them, David smiled. He couldn't say a word but stretched out his hands. Mike and Peter held hands; Mike dropped the vase of flowers by the bed, and David nodded in approval.

Mike and Peter wondered what could have happened to their friend. David's mom was happy to see Mike and Peter. "Thank you guys for coming to see your friend," she said. "The police found him laying in a bush close to the city park, with bruises and an injury to his head," David's mom told Peter and Mike. Mike said to her, "Ma, he will be fine; we were so scared when we heard he was missing". Peter and Mike left the hospital, hoping their friend would get better and leave the hospital.

David walks into the class, and everyone runs to hug him. They were all happy that David was back on his feet and looking very healthy. David thanked all his classmates for the love they showed him when he was in the hospital. The closing bell rang, and everyone walked out of class, taking turns to shake David. "See my celebrity friend," Mike said as he embraced David.

Mike looks at David and says to him "What really happened to you?". David smiles. "I was coming back from the supermarket where I went to get some breavages for my dad. I flagged down a taxi, and there were two other men in the back of the taxi. I boarded the taxi, not suspecting anything. I could remember seeing a yellow door as we approached this tall building. Then I felt some heavy bangs on my head. I don't really know what happened to me. As I opened my eyes, I saw myself on the hospital bed. From what the police said, I had passed out for two days. I was discovered by an elderly man who was going for a walk with his dog. I then told the police about the house with the yellow door. They went for a raid on the building and discovered it was a hideout for armed robbers".

Mike looked at David and said "I will be careful of houses with yellow doors", They all laughed and boarded the school bus.

Sort:  

Hello, David had a good scare, thank goodness he was found and recovered, he will surely take care of the yellow doors.

Thank you for your comment,it's God to know he was safe

Hello from The Ink Well admins. While your submission was not personally curated this time, here are some resources for you.

Thank you for sharing your story in The Ink Well!

Be sure to check out our community rules at the top of The Ink Well home page or here.

To learn more about the craft of fictional short stories, check out our catalog of fiction writing tips. To learn more about the creative nonfiction genre and what we're looking for, read our FAQ and tips for success. Keep writing!

Peter and Mike were caring friends, they were glad when they saw their missing friend David.