Jealous Bloodline

in The Ink Well7 months ago

pexels-photo-1440372.jpeg
Source

When will it become clear to me that Bukky doesn't love me? I've kept on carrying this false hope that perhaps she felt something for me. But time and again, she has proven it to me - that she doesn't give a little damn about me. "I'm a fool. An idiot. I love sick monkey." My brother was right, when he told me that I'm a hopeless romantic.

But I pondered, "What sin have I committed? Why is it so hard for me to find love?" Everyone else seems to have found it quite easily. And I've always acclaimed myself to be the smartest, but here I am, been constantly outsmarted by love. Or perhaps, I'm doing something wrong.

I guess, love in itself - hates me. Are they right? When they say, 'Love is blind'. The problem with me is that I have my eyes open in every tiny detail. But love needs forgiveness. Love needs nurturing to grow and thrive. Love should be blind to many errors on your partner's side. I've been the one sniffing the life out of all my romantic relationships.

But with Bukky, I was different. I allowed myself to be a bit less smart and more foolish and blind - in order to let love reign, but it still ended in catastrophe. "I turned a blind eye to most of her shortcomings, because I realized that no one is perfect neither am I. Or did I over react at bar last week Friday?" I'm really confused now.

Last week Friday, I took Bukky to a very nice bar, so we could have a good time. Suddenly, this tall guy, brown skin, muscular, and with shiny white teeth, like he was an ambassador of CloseUp toothpaste, walked to the table, where me and Bukky were having our enjoyment.

He said, "Bukky, is that you?" My Bukky turned around, she screamed of joy. She jumped up and hugged him, kissing his cheeks. "Damon, my heavens. I've missed you." Those were the annoying words that came out of Bukky's mouth. My jealous side took over me, I scattered the drinks on the table, and left Bukky at the bar. I drove home alone, and pissed off.

I was still annoyed when I arrived home. I sent a voice message to Bukky, "You cheap whore. You had the guts to disrespect me like that. Kissing and hugging whoever that imbecile is, in my presence. Come get your stuffs from my house. And leave my life."

Bukky's elder sister called me later that evening, "Hello Fred, Bukky is in my house. She has been crying, and saying that your relationship with her is over. And that in the morning, she'll come get her stuffs from your place. What exactly happened Fred?"

"That's good. First thing in the morning let Bukky come get her things, and let this be over. And about what happened - you should ask your sister. Bye." And I ended the call. I grabbed my bottle of Whiskey, and buried myself in it. I crashed right there on couch in my parlour.

In the middle of the night, there was something in the wind. I woke up, but I still felt like I was in a dream state. I heard my late mother's voice. And suddenly, the memories of the accident that claimed my mother's life became clear to me - my dad was driving, and screaming at my mom by his side. I was seated at the back seat. The argument got heated. My dad stopped paying attention to what was in front of him. And that was how we crashed into a lorry.

My dad and I survived, but my mom died on the spot. My mind returned back to my house, and my mom's voice continued, "Your dad was always jealous over the most trivial things. He never gave me any chance to explain my point of view. His jealousy eventually killed. Don't repeat your father's mistake. Bukky loves you my son. Always listen to what she has to say, rather than jump to hasty conclusions."

"Mama, I've missed you." My mom's voice was fading away, as I faintly heard, "I love you my son." I became wide awake. I saw myself in my room, holding my mom's picture in my hands. I would have said that it was all perhaps a dream, but how could I rationally explain - crashing on the couch in my parlour, and becoming awake in my room holding my late mom's picture.

In the morning, Bukky came to my house, to get her stuffs. But I did as my mom instructed. I begged her that I was sorry for my actions the previous day, and that I will listen to anything that she has to say. Bukky started crying as she told me how the guy she hugged and kissed his cheeks at the bar, saved her life and her elder sister's life many years ago - when he broke down their door, and rescued them from their house on fire, when she and her sister were still very little.

"If not for Damon, I and my elder sister would have died in that fire. My sister's left hand got burned badly."

I remember the large scar on Bukky's elder sister's left hand. I felt really bad with myself, that my jealousy blinded my thinking, and I acted like a little kid. I let go of my pride, and knelt down, and promised her, "I'll control that ugly jealousy demon in me. I'll never repeat this kind of behavior again."

Bukky cried, and lifted me up, saying, "I love you Fred. Never doubt that."

"I know. I love you too Bukky."

Sort:  

A misunderstanding almost ends the couple's relationship, many times we jump to conclusions and everything ends in a bad way, fortunately the problem was solved.

Thanks for sharing.
Good day.

Hasty conclusions has unfortunately ended many relationships that could have made it. Thanks for dropping by.

Thank you for posting in The Ink Well. Please be sure to write an introduction post so we can get to know you. (We will review future posts for full curation once you have done that.)

The following are some important notes about our community.

Please take note of our rules, which are posted at the top of The Ink Well community home page and take the time to get to know how our community works. A few important callouts:

  • We are all about quality short stories and engagement. This includes both fictional stories and creative nonfiction stories.
  • We provide weekly writing prompts to inspire our community of fiction writers and creative nonfiction writers.
  • We ask everyone who posts in The Ink Well to read and comment on at least two other writers' work in the community for every story published.
  • You can find many writer's resources in our catalog of fiction writing tips.
  • We keep a watchful eye out for spam and plagiarism, which are not tolerated.

Here are some resources to help you find your way around the Hive platform.

Be sure to get acquainted with @theterminal. It's one of the best sources of information on the Hive platform. They also have a Discord server and they are great at answering questions.

See the newbie's guide: https://peakd.com/@newbies-guide. Here's a collection of their posts on formatting: https://peakd.com/ccc/newbies-guide/hive-writing-and-formatting-tips

Also be sure to check out @heyhaveyamet. They are devoted to introducing new members.

Okay, I'll do it.

Congratulations @kmichealson! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - October 15, 2023