The bank hassle

in The Ink Well2 months ago

source

it was a rainy day and everywhere was wet, I remember being in need of cash badly that morning
it was monday, I am suppose to go out for an important meet up with my client, I live in Lagos, Nigeria where there is traffic at almost every highway

I have no cash with me for transport but I have money in my account, at that time I cannot do transfer with my phone because my phone and sim had been stolen one week prior to that day that sim was the one connected to my bank

I had thought that weekend that the money I got from the ATM on Friday evening would be enough to carry me through Monday.

but other unavoidable expenses that I didn't plan for showed up so the money planned to last till Monday barely lasted till Saturday night,
another thing is this unavoidable expenses came around Saturday night by 9:10pm and the nearest bank where their atm machine actually works to where I live is like almost an hour drive, so I had to put my hope and focus on Monday morning.

the rain started as early as 4:20am and stopped by 8:15am, with no cash on me I told the first driver I met when I got out with my umbrella by 6:00am that i have to collect cash from the ATM so I could pay him, on getting to the ATM machine and slotting my ATM card the card refused to come out, so did the cash, I was confused, furious, angry and afraid, my feelings were just all mixed up, i am thankful to God that the driver understands my dilemma that day and he left without bothering me for money.

I had to wait till 8:00am for the bank to officially open up so that the bank staffs, security or anybody working in that department can help me remove my card, little did I know that I wouldn't be able to collect my ATM card that day

but I was able to fill in some of my information and collect some cash which I will need for my journey and upkeep, I later meet up with my client by 12:00am after wasting two good hours in the bank.

banks are sometimes designed to frustrate people unnecessarily even when what they could have done is just explain the situation at hand and profer reasonable options for people.

thanks everyone, for your time.