A Halo of Thorns 8- Microfiction in the Age of the Coronavirus

in The Ink Well4 years ago

Just because it's the apocalypse doesn't mean you can't enjoy some of the finer things in life. As part of my preparations for the eventual shit-storm looming over the horizon, I purchased a couple of cans of Turkish coffee. I've developed a taste for it, and for its companion the Turkish delight.

Coffee.jpg

The funny thing is that every drink and every bite that I take feels as if it's my last. What if this pandemic gets out of hand even more so than it already is? Some mutation or other unknown factor could cause the equivalent of a cytokine storm in the nervous system of the planet. No more internet. No more Amazon. No more Turkish delight. Somber thoughts indeed! But I'm an optimist and know that we will science the shit out of the coronavirus. So, I sit back, look at the sky, and sip from my dainty cup.


Read more

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7

Sort:  

I hope those possibilities don't come true! I've been ensconced in the belief that the projected peaks will occur, and we will then be on the downhill slide of this thing. But you're right, of course. A mutation or other possibilities could derail those projections. For example, if everyone sees the number of cases dwindling and we all then become convinced it's safe to return to normal life, we will likely see a massive recurrence. Crossing my fingers that officials will do the right thing, keep things contained. In the U.S. it's almost a benefit that it's an election year. How the POTUS handles this is critical for his re-election hopes. Maybe that will help keep him focused on public health and well-being.

Well said, @jayna. The sooner this nightmare is over the better.

Well this just captures that feeling of uncertainty perfectly

The funny thing is that every drink and every bite that I take feels as if it's my last.

I go through this a good few times a day - should I eat this now? What if i can't get more? I'm savoring things more, eking things out, taking smaller bites, smaller sips, making every bit count. Just in case. But hey, we might all come out of this getting more satisfaction from the little things, like good coffee and turkish delight. I very nearly bought a bottle of turkish delight gin before all this (which if you like the sweet, you will likely love) and keep thinking about it in that shop too far across town to go to. Until I can, I think I will join you in letting the clouds drift by and enjoying what I have :)

Yes, this is the range of thoughts and emotions that go through me when doing even the simple things. Going out to a store is pretty much a dangerous quest at this point. It's a rollercoaster of emotions. I do have a sweet tooth, so when this is all over I will check out the Turkish delight gin that you recommended. Looking forward to better times. Thanks for visiting, @letalis-laetitia!