MY PATH-The Ink Well Creative Nonfiction Writing Prompt #22:Try, fail, try again

in The Ink Welllast year (edited)

It was 14th March last year in my 300 level first semester, when an idea of owning a Noodles spot in school flashed in my mind. Being a tertiary institution and one that prohibited students from cooking in the hostel, I had full confidence my business would boom and I began making plans and budgets for it.

After my plans, I called one of my brothers in Kaduna, the northern part of Nigeria and told him my fresh business idea because he had told me earlier that if I need financial help, I shouldn't hesitate to contact him. He asked me if I have done proper research and I affirmed boldly. He supported me with $300 and that made me excited. I met the appropriate bodies for space allocation which cost $80 and the construction of the Noodles' spot, utensils, tables and chairs cost $100.


Source

I set up my stand with different Noodles brand all sampled on the table as a way of appealing customers to stop by. By the end of the first week, I only made three sales. I felt maybe that's because I just started, at month end, I realized I have not made enough money to cover my expenses.

I felt so discouraged, frustrated and angry but I refused to let that stop me from pushing harder. I had to find out why many people were not visiting my spot knowing how populated the university was. I realized that I allowed the population to cloud my mind forgetting to do proper fleasibility study. It was due to the low sales I came to find out there were lots of Noodles spots around and these my competitors all had customers.

I had to buy Noodles from one of the spots and I found out that truly, theirs had an exceptional taste from mine with different vegetables which garnished the noodles and made it attractive. That was when I realized all this while, I have been making normal home-made noodles and my competitors were making the everyone-choice kind of noodles.

Source

Thanks to YouTube, I came back that day and started watching different videos on how to make perfect noodles with veggies. I saw tons of videos and they were all helpful. The following day was Sunday, I rested and used that day to create a sale discount and different noodle recipes and spaghetti recipes designs on my laptop which I printed out on Monday and hung on my stand. Now, my customers would have to make their choice on the type they need and it will be made. This was what others lacked and I took that to be my own marketing strategy, once a customer walks in, she or he look at the menu and makes a choice.

With this new strategy and a little bit of price slash and discount, I started seeing customers coming to me one by one to see what I have to offer. With my different recipes that were an ice on a cake, the business which was once crumbling and making me feel disappointed became a huge success. My spot became a hit like that of my competitors and by the end of each day, I will end up making a huge profit.

I was grateful I didn't let my initial failure make me halt and give up; rather, the failure was a chance for me to try and try new approaches, learn, improve and stand out. I learnt that Noodles being my first business venture was an avenue for me to try, fail, and try again.


                    THE END

I AM @marynn,
THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG AND FOR TAKING THE TIME TO READ MY WORK
.

Sort:  

Setbacks always show us and open up an opportunity to learn and grow. You just need to focus and believe that it can be done, search for the necessary information, and act to achieve those results. The reward is the long-awaited success. Congratulations on your success. Greetings.

Awwwn, I took all the time i needed to read your sentences one by one because of how insightful they were. Thanks for dropping a wonderful feedback, you have said all in very straight and direct point. I'm grateful for the time you took to read my post and made this awesome comment.

Failure most times brings out the best in you. That's why it's important you never give up after your first attempt.

I'm glad you worked on improving your brand and not letting the fear of failure weigh you down.

Thanks so much @chuksmeezy this kind words. My confidence boosted my courage and one thing about me is that what I have zeal for, I don't relent on it easily.

A fantastic success story that confirms that failure, well lived, is the fastest way to learn. You acted with serenity and a lot of intelligence. You surely received many compliments for the variety and taste of your noodles, @marynn. Thank you for this entry to the Creative Nonfiction prompt. Appreciate your comments on the other stories.

I have been happy with myself for taking the bold step to take the risk. At first it wasn't smooth but I refused to give up and I must say my courage paid off massively and is still paying till now. Thanks so much @theinkwell for the support and encouragement. Your awesome words are minding warming.

You tried and you came out successful, I also want to go into this noodle business, but I haven't gotten the courage yet and also not gotten the right location

Making feasibility study is one of marketing skills in any business. Noodles business is a very productive business that earn massive profit if you are in the right location. I will encourage you summon the courage to start once you have seen good location dear friend @treasuree .

I will when I get the right location and funds to.thanks dear

Feasibility study and capital are the major start point.

yeah true

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @marynn.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks so much