The Dearth Of A Soul.

in The Ink Well17 days ago (edited)

      It has soiled my soul,
      It has spoiled my spirit
      Yeah! i did ate the grains of a desolate land
      It's late! You see, where that has landed me.

These were echoes of words that filled the room in her last minute. No ooooooooo...........don't do that! i squealed.

Anabel is a good friend of mine,she's actually the elder sister i never had and despite the fact she is way older than me,she never seemed to care about it neither does she show it in her relation towards me "Age is just numbers" her usual words in quote. In turn, that has really helped us to bond well.
Anabel was also a student of my now Alma mater. At the time we met, i was just a confused student in an unfamiliar environment, in strive to quickly find a short cut that will alienate me from the newbie circus to a more tenable social level.
As Johnny just come wey i be (a new student) i knew "Nada" (nothing) that was expected right? but my curiosity wouldn't just let me be as per there were loads of information flying in the atmosphere of the campus, my lack of knowledge to decipher which is and which is not, left me confused, stucked and perplexed .

There she was! she was one of the keynote speaker for the programme organised by the senior level students of the department, to welcome, reorient and to formally initiate us into the auspices of the department. Despite, my low attention span, her fluency and dictions caught the web of my distraction during her speech,this left me enthralled and spellbound. she sounded so full of life,I like her,
No,i love her already......
And i must make an acquittance of her, i assertively said to myself.
Never mind, my so early conclusion about her. I'm that kind of person,that kind of person that finds intellectual people attractive, no matter if other areas of their lives is falling apart, so typical of a sapiophile.

Excuse me!
Please make way,i was literally shouting on top of my voice but no one seemed to give ears to what i was saying apparently, the chattering noise of the crowd at the exit entrance overshadowed mine. The programme ended quite earlier than expected thereby,making the attendees clustered everywhere, from the hall to the passageway even the walkway,all jampacked. I squeezed my tiny self in their midst, to at least get to see my new found friend, anything for her.......
Hi!
My name is...........Dorcas.
My breathe shuddered the moment she turned to face my direction,I was speechless and lost for words to say. Damn! she's also so gorgeous,now that i have seen her closely. How may i help you? She interrupted my fanciful gaze at her.
I'm a newbie in this school and i badly need a figure of a mentor to help me especially, with my academic performance, please don't refute me because i know you're more than capable, i reiterated.
My name is Anabel, nice meeting you! She said this with the broadest smile have ever seen,we afterwards exchanged phone numbers and that was where it all began.
Few months into our relationship,we graduated from mere mentee -mentor relationship to something more deeper,more fondler and more truer. We shared every love, every hurt, every failure and every of our successes.

It was a tranquil siesta not until the blaring ringtone said have had enough of it. I half awaked slided the screen of my phone to receive the call that was disrupting my sleep.
Dorcas!
Have had enough,
I can't take this anymore......
Have had enough of him, i don't wanna continue like this, I want to end it all, Anabel's lamented tearily.
A quick back story!
Steph happened to be Anabel's first love, a love affair that sprung from their childhood days,imagine how bonded they would have became, so that earned envy from all sides. For starters, i was also envious of her relationship with Steph not until Anabel unearthed the dark side of sweet,charming and down to earth Steph that i knew. He's a woman batterer, an emotional abuser and to top it all, a flirt.
And why are you still with him? I asked Anabel one of those days when we had plenty of time at both ends to whirl off.
I can't leave him,Dee.
He stood solidly by me and my mother when everyone, I mean, everyone forsook us after my dad's demise.
He's the one sponsoring my education, that of my siblings and footing other miscellaneous needs.
How could i stooped so low to reciprocate his kindness with evil?

Don't do that................i squealed.
Okay Anabel, Please calm down.
Don't take any silly action that's popping inside your head. If not because of me,what of mum? Your naughty kid sister, Tade?
Who's gonna be there for them?
Please Annie for goodness sake, i shakily urged her over the phone.
She sighed,Okay motigbo! (have heard you )
Can you please come over to the house,I need someone around me,Annie requested.
Sure babe! I'll be on my way shortly,i replied.

"One shall chase a thousand and two shall put ten thousands to a flight".
Anabel became way too loyal to me than a dog to it owner after that episodic epic incident, we are now more like a two strong cords that are unbreakable.

© Medemausi

The picture is mine.

Sort:  

There are so many Anabels out there that need a Dorcas. I hope life keeps them safe and strong.

Uhmm!
I hope for same too.
Thanks for reading Sis!

Always. ❤️

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations @medemausi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024