A dream's fruition

in The Ink Well3 months ago

alex-seinet-sDVF7CzHBQc-unsplash.jpgImage source

I wanted to own a dog for a really long time now. I even started saving up to get one for myself. Owning a dog was one of the sweet dreams I had.

I didn't really like dogs from the beginning. When I was younger,I lived in the fear of getting bitten by one. We owned four dogs when I was little, big German shepherds. Some people would think I should be more familiar with dogs, but it wasn't just easy for me. Sometimes, I would even have dreams of getting chased and bitten by the dogs. I wasn't bitten by the dogs any day but I couldn't keep count of people who had been bitten by the dogs, both insiders and outsiders. My mum even got bitten one night, so who was I to have the courage of even getting close enough to pet them? We sold ours shortly after the incident with my mum.

I took a liking to the animal when my sister got a little puppy. She left it with me most of the time and even let me name it. It was a female dog so I named her Lyla. I was very fond of Lyla and I loved carrying her like a baby. With her, I wasn't afraid of getting bitten. We soon developed a bond so much that she got used to my voice and could recognize me from a distance. I also felt she had my scent too. Lyla grew my understanding of dogs. With each waking day, our bond grew stronger . I could say that she was my best friend. When my sister had to resume school, she took Lyla with her, because I didn't have the finance enough to take care of her, she couldn't be kept in my care. And since my mum wasn't much of a dog lover, I knew asking her assistance was a no-brainer.

As for me, I was sad that Lyla had to go, I even thought of ways I could convince my sister to let me go with them so I could be with Lyla.
Lyla still remembered me anytime I went to see my sister. But still I wish I had a dog of my own. I even looked up dogs and had my mind set on getting myself a Caucasian puppy that I could raise till it was big. But it was really hard since I had nothing doing and I was only able to save from the little allowance my dad gave me.

It was the COVID-19 period and we went to stay with my grandparents. I was happy cause I normally spent my birthdays in my boarding school, so I was really happy for having to spend my birthday with my family in a very long time. The d-day, my birthday was two days away, I was praying we would find somewhere we could go on an outing since almost every social gathering spots was locked down due to the quarantine. The day before my birthday, it was confirmed that there was no where we could go to celebrate. It was already bad enough that my dad couldn't be there because he was at work when the lock down started.

The morning of my birthday, I slept in for quite a long time. I wasn't feeling any of the birthday vibe due to the circumstances.

"Happy birthday, sleepy head", my elder sister said as she shook me to wake up.
"Thank you" I said with a smile trying to hide the fact that I wasn't really that happy that we couldn't go out.
The day began well. My mum ordered some food, drinks, ice cream and a cake from a restaurant that still delivered food, although it came a little late.

The first gift I received was from my mum. She gave me a pair of shoes. My brother got me a wrist watch, while one of my elder sisters gave me a reasonable sum of money. I received lots of gift and most were monetary. Later that day, I was lightened up and very happy. My other elder sister told me she got me a gift but some circumstances hindered it. She later gave me some money.

Towards evening, while I sat watching TV in the sitting room, my sister came in and sat with me to watch the movie.
"Joe, help me get my phone from my room," she said.
Joe is the pet name my sister calls me by.

"Okay" I said as I went to get the phone. I got into the room and saw a basket covered with a cloth and a card. The card read on it "happy birthday, lil bro", and I knew at once that it was from my sister. She had used the errand to make me go discover it. I assumed it was a cake or maybe even chocolates.

Just when I was about to grab it, a small bark, almost like a whine, came from the basket. I jumped. The shock I felt was soon replaced by a rush of excitement. I was so happy that day, I could barely believe it. I took of the cloth wrapping to meet a cute, black and white furred puppy. The cutest I had ever seen.

I finally had a dog of my own and didn't have to worry about feeding it cause I had some money already saved up. I named him Skipper.
I could never forget that day. The day I received a sweet gesture from my sister, the loveliest one at that.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

This is so wonderful. She had read your mind to know what you've always wished for and she surprised you with that.

That's so lovely

Yes, I felt like the happiest person in the world that day

😅😅
Life is good

That was very thoughtful of your sister. Going by how you treated her pet, Lyle, she probably had it in mind to get you yours so you could cherish it as much.
How's Skipper doing, by the way?

thanks,Skipper is doing just great.

What a delightful creative nonfiction story, @menace123. Welcome to Hive and to The Ink Well! You have a very nice storytelling style, which shows that you understand the importance of a storyline even for real life stories. You also have included action and dialogue with your story's narrative, which is something we love to see.

To help you continue getting to know our community, here are some resources for you:

  • Be sure to read The Ink Well community rules at the top of the community home page, and check out our FAQ about The Ink Well.
  • We accept two kinds of short stories in The Ink Well: fictional stories and creative nonfiction stories.
  • You can find some great articles on fiction story writing in our catalog of fiction writing tips.
  • You can find information about what we are looking for in creative nonfiction stories in this post.

You have have already started engaging with other community members by commenting on their posts, which is a great way to connect in the community and make friends. Again, welcome!

Thanks for visiting my post

hey, Josh. What a heartwarming post. You must have been over the moon when you saw little Skipper! Would love to see a pic of the little guy who stole your heart 🤗 I hope you are both spending lots of time making each other very happy. !PIZZA !ALIVE

@menace123! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ samsmith1971. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Thanks. I will make sure I do swing by

Yes skipper and I are like inseparable. Thanks for visiting my post

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@samsmith1971(1/15) tipped @menace123