The Inkwell fiction challenge| wonder and misery

sharon-mccutcheon-Y1TGc43qSQo-unsplash.jpg

image credit

An almost perfect makeup, flawless peach coloured Alexander McQueen's heels, a dark black Oscar de la Renta dress and a peach Oscar de la Renta handbag to go with the heels. I am 34 but my skin says otherwise, you'd probably think I'm a 25 year old woman if we crossed paths. What's the occasion you ask? I'm going to visit my ex husband in jail, you think I'm over dressed for it but I think I look perfect enough to see the man that turn my wonder into misery.

The beginning

"I'm Mary Stuart, nice meeting you John Roger." That was an introduction that should never have happened, a smile I shouldn't have given nor received. It was ten years ago when we met at a Diamond club meeting, I had just graduated from the University and my parents thought it was time to get me introduced to the different rich clubs as the heiress to their company and of course find a suitor, their plans worked well enough, I met John Roger on my first club meeting. He was a tall, good-looking, brownskinned man in his early 30's, his smile made the hall even fancier, it was love at first sight or maybe it wasn't so for him.

John and I dated for three years, he was the perfect man, I loved everything about him, he wasn't as rich as I with my inherited wealth but he was quite okay. I still remember the day he proposed to me, I felt the heavens rejoice, the golden ring with a bright diamond topping on it, the reflection on it as he knelt down, I accepted before he could finish his speech, the thought of spending the rest of my life with this awesome man was priceless.
Two years into our marriage we we're blessed with a daughter, everyone envied our family, who wouldn't? Even I envied myself, my life was perfect, it was too good to be true, it really was.

The day it all crumbled

It was 1 AM in the morning, I had woken up to check on my daughter when my husband's phone beeped, her name was saved as Manger Davis I should've dropped the phone, maybe if I didn't read it my life would have taken a little more while before it crumbled, I had never felt the need to read his texts so maybe he got too comfortable, the content of the text was nothing like I had expected. As I read "is she asleep yet? we have to talk about the house, we need to get it before our baby arrives and try to convince her to put the company in your name."
I felt a huge lump in my chest, I was gasping for breath, who was that? what baby? Was she referring to my company? Maybe it's a wrong text, I tried to convince myself John wouldn't hurt me. My head was filled with thoughts and morning was faraway.

I had dad's private investigator find out all there was to find out, my husband had a mistress, she had been his girlfriend for 15 years, she was pregnant, my husband had made money off several women by promising them commitment, he stole their hearts and money as well. It was hard to believe it, 10 years was a long time, I couldn't believe it but he was stealing from me too, he planned to steal my company and walk away from our marriage, he wanted to leave both me and our baby. The look on his face when I confronted him, I would have fallen for his denial and claims of being innocent but the evidences were slapping me hard in the face. As hard as it was I had to hand him over to the police.

Present day

His face looked pale and somehow, the love I had for him had turned to pity, it has been 6 months since our divorce and 5 months since he had been jailed.
Visiting was limited to 10 minutes, this was my first time seeing him since he was jailed, he looked different, he looked like a stranger. After a minute of silence I asked him "did you ever really love me?" He hanged his head low "you don't need to answer that, I want to let you know I won't live the rest of my life hating you, at first I was full of misery but I won't live like that, I want you to be healthy and alive in here, I would also let you see our daughter when you get out from here, goodbye for now". with that I stood up to leave but I heard him tell out "I'm sorry, I'll live the rest of my life regretting what I did to you". WlI turned around and smiled"would you? I can only wonder."


Thank you for reading

Sort:  

Congratulations @michellesamson! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

That is quite a story of romance and high crime, @michellesamson. You have practically packed an entire novel into a short story. It's an interesting story line. I'm amazed by the narrator's power of forgiveness after everything he did behind her back. Forgiving someone under the circumstances is certainly not easy.

Thank you for taking your time to read. I've always believed people should forgive no matter how much it hurts, that way you can always move on better. I hope you enjoy more of my future contents.