Theinkwell fiction challenge|Daughter

photo-1517249451112-d6807e65721f.jpeg

image source

Tears streamed down my face as I walked down this beautiful path, it wasn't tears of pain or heartbreak, it was tears of extreme happiness, a smile couldn't do justice to how I truly felt.

My journey as a mother started 26 years ago, I was an unmarried college student when I got pregnant, I was just 20. My baby daddy was still a student himself, he wasn't ready to be a father and asked me to opt for an abortion but I chose not to, a life was in me already, I couldn't terminate it, my single mother felt I had betrayed her trust in me, I could feel her own sadness when I broke the news out to her.

She too had been a young single mother and worked hard so I wouldn't walk down that path, it was obvious her heart broke knowing I now had to walk the same path despite how hard she tried to shield me from it but she didn't reject me nor the baby, she was my greatest strength throughout my journey as a mother.

The memories of the day I gave birth to my baby, we had not decided a name prior to her birth but at a first look my mother called her "Alina" a Greek name which means light "Light".

I remember the nights she stayed up taking care of my daughter so I could prepare for my exams, my mother's love made me the greatest mother to my own daughter.

It's still as fresh as Daisy, the memories of the first time my daughter walked, her first word "Mami", she still calls my mother Mami till this day, her first kindergarten day, her high school and college graduation, the day she brought her to be husband home.

She has lived up to her name, "Light" she was a constant source of Joy to my mother and I and the thought of her having her own family makes me smile amidst my tears as I walk her down the aisle. I turned to my left and saw my mother, I think she is the happiest in the hall as her smile radiated like the sunset, my journey as a mother has been a blessed one.

LINE TWO.png

Thank you for reading.

d1d783ae79efa3a0f73da75a38420b297729504730a19aa32526629d911d2040.0.gif

IMG-20200626-WA0002.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @michellesamson! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Very nice accounting of women through generations, @michellesamson. Just curious, is this real or fiction?

Parents always want their children to learn from their mistakes, but I think it's not uncommon for them to repeat them. Examples of how to live a life are more powerful than lectures!

I'm glad you found it interesting, it's a fiction.