The dull chemistry student

in The Ink Well4 months ago

1708012363474.jpg

What's all this chemical reactions all about?

"This chemistry is just not for me!" I concluded. Back then I high school, I knew Chemistry was not for me, my favorite subject then was physics, I became the physics teacher's favourite student, my class mates would call me Uncle Barnabas boy, our Physics teachers name is Barnabas, but when it comes to chemistry, I was just too dull for it, I hated both chemistry and the chemistry teacher. it's now time to go to the university, I was given admissions into the department of biochemistry. "But how on earth can I cope with this chemistry of a thing?" I asked myself, "can I really do it?" I was scared, I don't want to fail.
First year, i knew I was already in for it, what should I do? I was really scared, I'll always be among the first student to reach the class room and sit just next to the lecturer, I became so serious.
When our first result came out! wow! I was surprised, It wasn't bad, "I think I can do this!"
I was beginning to motivate myself, the fear began to go gradually, my friends began calling me "scholar" but deep down, I was really scared of what I was doing, until my third year in school, that was when I became confident of myself, I then fell in love with what I was studying, I began doing well. I now know I wasn't a dull chemistry student, as I have believed.
Down to the final year, the physics student have finally become a biochemist... it was just funny, how I started versus how I ended. when the final result was released, I received a message from my friend: "Congratulations" I laughed! congratulations for what bro? I said to myself. then he added "The best graduating student of the department of biochemistry Federal University of Lafia, set of 2022," "o my goodness! " I was filled with joy. knowing I made the best graduating student is one of the best new, I've heard. it was really a sweet one. I never knew "the dull chemistry student" I called myself can come this far.
then I believed that the real battle is inside the mind, your mind is your greatest limitation. conquer your mind and you can conquer that thing that look too incredible in your sight.
Thanks for reading, work on your mind, develope a positive mind towards whatever you're doing and success will be inevitable. I love you all.

Sort:  

Just like you, I detested chemistry and loved physics so much.

Eventually you became a chemistry guru. That's admirable.

Thank you @trexane 🥰🥰🤗🤗🤗

hi Michael, Welcome to The Ink Well.

Thank you for submitting this off-prompt piece of writing to the community. The strength of the mind and heart truly are incredible. Congratulations on your graduation achievements.

Your piece would benefit from some editing before publication. Consider running simple spell checks and using a grammar checker like Grammarly to correct punctuation and grammar. You tend to separate your individual thoughts with commas instead of the requisite period. Presentation-wise, it would help if you separated ideas into separate paragraphs. It makes it easier on the eye than a large block of text. Your writing and presentation will improve if you consider applying these suggestions.

Please also note that images used on Hive need to be royalty-free or belong to you. They also need to be sourced correctly. This means that you need to provide the URL link to where the image can be located online if it does not belong to you. This is so that we can ensure that copyright is not being breached. The link should be to the dedicated page for that image and where the photographer is credited. If the image belongs to you, which I suspect in this post is the case, a simple note at the foot of your post stating that "All images used in this blog post belong to me unless otherwise stated" will suffice.

Now that you're here, please have a look around and get to know our community. Here are a few tips for getting acquainted:

Be sure to read The Ink Well community rules at the top of the community home page, and check out our FAQ about The Ink Well.

We accept two kinds of short stories in The Ink Well: fictional stories and creative nonfiction stories.

You can find some great articles on fiction story writing in our catalog of fiction writing tips.

You can find information about what we are looking for in creative nonfiction stories in this post.

And please be sure to engage in the community by reading and commenting on the work of other community members. We ask everyone who post in The Ink Well to read and comment on at least two other stories for each one published.

Again, welcome!

Thank you so much @theinkwell for the corrections and good advice. All corrections will be taken note of. 🙏🙏🙏