Cyndi, and her Fate Revealed

in The Ink Well2 years ago

Cyndi was about to start history class when she receives a call, it was from the nursing home where her grandmother was, her face paled, and she left without saying a word. The students were surprised and murmured among themselves, until the secretary came to notify them that the teacher would be absent this week due to family reasons.

She was driving as fast as she could afford, her tears streaming down her cheeks spontaneously, her heart beating fast. Although she maintained her composure, she couldn't hide how worried she was for her grandmother, she was her only family, her parents had died while she was just a child.

Arriving at the Nursing Home, she was walking very quickly, almost jogging, she was able to breathe when she saw the tender Amelie, she saw her asleep, and she sat next to her, took her hand and covered it with her own as if she wanted to tuck her in.

Amelie opened her eyes and smiled at her, Cyndi asked: _What happened to you? How do you feel? They told me that they put you on oxygen, that you couldn't breathe.

The questions came from Cyndi one after another, she felt extremely anxious, her grandmother had contracted COVID months ago, and despite her age she got over it quite quickly, but after that event, for Cyndi the fear of losing her distressed her.

Amelie smiled, and tried to calm her down, she repeated: _I'm fine my little one, I'm fine, and now that you're here with me, I feel very happy!

Cyndi smiled at her. Suddenly, there is a knock on the door, it was the new doctor at the Nursing Home, who was returning to check on Amelie before going to the Hospital.

Amelie sat quickly on the bed, and with a smile said: _Come in, come in Dr. I want to introduce you to my beautiful granddaughter.

Cyndi blushed, she was a very beautiful woman, but she was also very shy, since she was young she had left coquetry aside, she didn't wear makeup, and she dressed without much grace.

Dr. Cameron introduced himself, and after checking on Amelie, he called Cyndi aside, they met in the hallway, he told her: _Your grandmother is a strong woman, but today we put her on oxygen because she said she had difficulty breathing; however, I have not detected anything from her, it may be necessary for me to visit her more often so that she feels better.

Then Cyndi understood everything. She entered the room with a mischievous smile. Amelie had the face of a mischievous girl.

_Grandma this time you exceeded.

_I don't know what you're talking about * Amelie replied, but she didn't stop laughing.

_I don't want you to pretend you're sick to find me a boyfriend.

_It's that when I saw that handsome boy, with those green eyes and that athletic bearing, I thought I liked him for you. Besides, he is single, I was walking down the hall when I heard he was talking on the phone with his mother, he was telling her that he still couldn't give him grandchildren because he hadn't found the right woman, and that's when I pretended to pass out.

Cyndi laughed a lot, and she begged Amelie not to do something like that again, but the truth is that she did like Dr. Cameron.

At the end of the afternoon, Cyndi said goodbye to return home, then Amelie gave her a gift, _And this? Cyndi said in amazement.

_I have been saving this for a long time, it was from your mother, it was the first gift she received from your father when they got engaged, instead of an engagement ring he gave her that.

Cyndi opened the box, and got a beautiful gold bracelet, when detailing it, she realized that it was an ancient piece, from the Viking era, she was filled with emotion when receiving this.

Amelie hugged her and said: _Your ancestors were Vikings, and that bracelet will mark your destiny.

Cyndi found that last bit silly, but she loved the fact that she was connected to her ancestors. She said goodbye affectionately and left.

The next morning, there was a persistent knock on the door. He hurried to open, and what was the surprise? It was Dr Cameron.

When she saw him, she was petrified, and immediately asked: _Dr. Did something happen with my grandmother?

He smiled at her, and said: _No, she sent me, she told me that you felt very bad, she asked me the great favor of seeing what you had, but now I realize that you are fine.

Cyndi felt embarrassed by her grandmother's attitude and apologized, _And I'm in these looks_ she thought.

So, Dr. Cameron said to him: _can you call me Ronald, and since I'm here, can I buy you lunch?

Cyndi agreed right away, and asked for a few minutes to get ready, this time she wanted to look flirty.

While they were in the vehicle, Cyndi saw that he had a bracelet similar to hers, and his pupils dilated, she was looking at him in amazement. Ronald noticed her, and told her: _This bracelet was given to me by my mother, it is an old family tradition of my ancestors that one day I will tell you.

Cyndi sighed and understood that her fate was in front of her.

woman-5928942.jpg

Image by Dario Devilli published in Pixabay

20220109_214325_0000.png

Banner created with the Canva app

Sort:  

Fate and an insightful and mischievous grandmother have brought together two people who had little chance of meeting had it not been for the grandmother's cunning. You have the makings of a very good love story, @mjvdc. Thanks for posting on The Ink Well and thanks for the interactions with the other writers in the community.

@theinkwell I was moved to read this, thank you very much for your noble words, they motivate me to continue writing and improving every day.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 124 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4