The Sleeping City (Original Poetry)

in The Ink Well4 years ago

20200502_090524.jpg
Photo taken by me

The Sleeping City

The city slumbers
Opening her veins
to the empty
Haunted
By unfamiliar plight
Distorted
in her drowsiness

Glass shields
Protecting the fragile.
Warriors!
Triumphant in cowardice
Sullen in their glory

They hold
Enacting inaction
Slaying
While the silent assassin
Takes the weak
Slowly starving in the
Lukewarm river
of nothing

divider.png

This is one of two poems I wrote about New York City during the COVID19 pandemic. I was able to visit the city for work purposes and witnessed the emptiness of it. If you've ever been to the city, you can appreciate how eerie it must be to see it devoid of activity. They call it The City That Never Sleeps. I saw it sleeping, and it was a bit jarring.

I said that this was one of two poems. It is actually a rewrite of another poem. As an idea for a poetry prompt, I thought it would be cool to rewrite a rhyming poem as a non-rhyming poem. So I gave it a shot and this is what resulted. The original poem is here.

Please let me know your thoughts below.

Screenshot_20200414210812_Chrome.jpg

Join the Blockchain Poets community. Where we read and comment each other's on poetry.

Sort:  

Triumphant in cowardice

That is powerful. Great poem and sweet shot too of the tags and cityscape.

Posted using Dapplr

Thanks, man. I appreciate the kind words. I wish I would have taken more pictures.

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.