Story time: A perfect day

in The Ink Welllast year (edited)

It was a lovely spring morning when the "impudent" sun came bursting through the crevices of my window. It must have stirred me from a deep reverie or maybe it was just my internal alarm clock going off. It was time to start the day. As I crawled out of bed, I felt grateful to see the sun and I was already thinking of the day ahead. Time to welcome the new day. Like every morning, I go to the window, pull away the curtains and marvel at the majestic sun rising in the distance. I actually love the sun. Today I missed the pink-orange glow of its ascent but it is Saturday and I relish these mornings when my own body clock awakens me.

I heard some stirring in the house but I decided to ignore it. There is no need to rush to the office or to ensure my teenagers get anywhere on time. I will take things in my own stride today.

I started the day with a lukewarm shower - cold enough to activate my senses but warm enough to cushion me and make me want to linger under the shower forever. However, I was a lady on a mission. I got dressed and I slipped into my favorite yellow linen dress and my comfortable open-toed slippers. I brushed my hair up in a ponytail. I had not planned to scrutinize myself in the mirror but I caught a glimpse of myself. I decided to look closer and I was pleased with my reflection. The years have been good to me despite my teenage kids teasingly calling me their “old mommy”. It is done with love - I know and do not mind the teasing.

The earlier snickering I heard became more audible and soon there was a knock on the bathroom door. I opened the door to see my youngest daughter, Simone, holding a black silk scarf. She said to me,

“Mommy please close your eyes - I need to blindfold you.”

Without much protest, I acquiesced. I like surprises. Simone held my hand as she carefully guided me to the living room. I was told when I could remove the blindfold. I was very pleased to see the table set with a lovely breakfast. One would have thought that it was my birthday or that Mother’s Day came early. My husband and 3 kids showered me with kisses then we partook in this lovely breakfast.

My family is accustomed to my routine. My early morning mission is to see the progress of my garden. I am invigorated by my garden; even the best “black brew" does not compare. As I entered my rooftop terrace garden, I could see that my family had already filled the water cans. I had to smile but then I noticed something else. My plants looked lusher and greener than ever before. It was as though something magical occurred overnight. As I walked along watering each plant and inspecting them - I felt as though they were thanking me as they stood majestically and healthily. The tomatoes, peas, peppers, strawberries and cucumbers had so many fruits. Even the verdant leaves of the veggies seemed to shimmer in the morning light.

After leaving my garden, I decided to go to the park. I went to my favorite section, which was bedecked with Japanese cherry blossom trees close to the pond. I was thrilled that they were still in bloom. I spread my plaid picnic blanket and sat under the trees in the perfect spot. I could see the weeping willows on the other side. This area is so peaceful and beautiful.

weeping willows from my favourite place in the park

I took out my book and got lost in the pages. I only realized that hours had passed when I saw one of my closest friends walking her dog. She told me that she was meeting another friend for a picnic lunch. They decided to join me. As I only had water with me, it was a welcomed idea to have a delicious salad and my favorite fruit salad with my friends. What a treat!

After the picnic, we lingered in the park as there was a band performing. I wanted to return home as it was a perfect day for a barbecue. I told my friends this idea and they agreed. Shortly thereafter my husband called. He told me that he was going shopping for food for a barbecue, so I could relax and enjoy with my friends and bring them along later. It was as though my husband had read my mind. I joked that sometimes we communicate telepathically. I invited my friends to return home with me for our BBQ. They both accepted.

Upon arriving home, I opened the door and the smell of delicious foods wafted toward us. It was as though a master chef was present. Then we went to the terrace and saw Jeff - a master chef indeed - preparing a veritable feast. However, it was not only Jeff; some of my closest friends and family were there as well. I could not believe my eyes. It then dawned on me that the meeting in the park was orchestrated - in fact my whole day was. Everyone started hugging and kissing me. Then suddenly, from between the smiling faces and warm greetings came the biggest surprise of them all - my grandma walked towards me. I was gobsmacked but elated. I could only say,
“Grandma - it has been so long!!”
She responded,
“This is what happens when we live on opposite sides of the world; however I am here now my daughter.”
She came towards me and gave me the warmest hug. She always called me her daughter - I loved that.

I spent the next hours smiling from ear to ear. So much affection in one day is overwhelming but welcomed. I could hardly contain my joy and contentment as I mingled with the guests and thanked everyone for their presence. We danced and feasted on the gastronomic delights and passed the evening away with much merriment and storytelling.

As the magnificent sun casted orange red "flames" across the evening sky, I relished in the thought that everyone had secretly organized - a perfect day for me.


The photo is my own


This is my response to The Ink Well's prompt #17.

Sort:  

Woo, I was lost in my imagination while reading this beautiful perfect day from you momo❤️. I was seeing myself in your house watching the watering in your garden and all the yummy surprises by your loved ones😊 (all going on in my mind🤦‍♀️).

I didn't want the story to finish so quickly but it did..lol
Indeed, you were cared for...what more perfect day can I ask... Amazing story here!

You are a good writer, so creative and you know how to make your readers stay glued to their screen.
I love this👌
Good job my dear!

!LUV

Many thanks @nkemakonam89 for the compliments. I am happy that I could take you on this amazing journey with me and that you enjoyed it. Thanks for the LUV as well.

This sounded like the perfect day, indeed!
It's great to feel loved by family, and even though surprises are not my thing, everything was thoughtfully done:)

Thank you @millycf1976 - I know surprises can go quite wrong sometimes or can be emotional. Why aren't they your thing?

I feel surprises are self-gratifying and for personal entertainment than it is meant for the receiver's pleasure, and enjoyment. To me, if something is being done for the receiver, consideration and consulting the receiver to ensure that whatever surprise one is planning, is appropriate.

That's just me still. I am protective of my personal space and my time. And I extend that mindfulness to others.

Yes I totally understand you. I do not think I would appreciate surprises from those not close to me as I would be very nervous that it goes very wrong. Then I could not show appreciation.

This sounded like the perfect day, indeed. Great stories, beautifully told.
Thank you for sharing this with our creative non-fiction prompt, and we look forward to seeing you around the community:)

It was truly a special day. All that love and affection is something you'll carry with you forever.

Yes thank you - there is nothing better than feeling loved and cared for. Thanks for dropping by.

You're welcome.

I crave for such a moment as I read through this wonderful piece. Everyone cherishes such moment.

I pray you have a moment like this and many more. Thanks for dropping by.

It was a wonderful day, through your words you made us enjoy a beautiful time. I loved your grandmother, I imagined the great happiness in you.
Thanks for sharing.
Good day.

Aww thank you - I am happy that I could take you on this journey and that you could feel the happiness too. Have a great day as well.

Hi @momogrow,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

@momogrow, one of your Hive friends wishes you a Happy Valentine's day and asked us to give you a new badge!

Valentine's Day 2023

To find out who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Valentine's Day Challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Wooooow, what an amazing day you had! It's really a perfect day, everyone cherishes having one like this. I wish we all get to enjoy this kinda moments more and more.

I was curiously reading, hoping to see the event/news that would bring your family and friends (even your Grand Ma from the other side of the world) together but now, I know it's only your thoughts. It seems like a dream perfect day indeed. I wish you get to experience this day (or a similar one) often.

Wow, every mother's dream of a perfect day. Hope you have more of these.

Aww many thanks @sayee - I hope so too and wish for so=uch lovely moments for everyone.