The chamber of ghosts and the prayer warriors 

in The Ink Welllast month

After too much struggle at the university to rent an apartment, oops, sorry, I couldn't even afford to rent an apartment then. I had to stay with a friend of mine. Well, that was the only person I knew in that state.
Getting to the house, I asked the price of the apartment; maybe later in the future I would be able to afford one because I realized there are still vacant rooms. When I heard the price of the room, it was so cheap, and I was like, This man is so nice. No wonder there are too many people here.

Black and Red Illustrative Scary Horror YouTube Thumbnail_20240510_194141_0000.png

The compound was so big, and there are a series of hostels in the place. Well, getting to the place, I realized I couldn't even sleep at night. Even when everyone is busy sleeping, I will find it very hard to sleep. I needed to go to the school hospital to treat myself, thinking I'd been doing something that didn't make me sleep. I was given drugs and some other supplements to make me sleep. But, to cut a long story short, I still couldn't sleep at night.

I was disturbed, and I needed to travel home to know what was wrong with me. When I got to my parents house, I realized I'm totally fine and nothing is wrong with me because, till I left, I always slept like a bouncing baby. Getting back to the house, I still couldn't sleep. Then I noticed something was wrong somewhere.
Sometimes I couldn't take it any more. I need to speak to my friend; she's a lady. I told her what was going on. And she says that she has also been noticing some strange things about the house lately. She told me about her scary dreams and so on.
But then we could not tell anyone because people hardly believe in spiritual things or spirits themselves. We just have to wait for the right time to speak out.

On this very good day, some of our hostel mates are coming from nightclubs, and on getting to the gate, they saw someone sitting alone in the middle of the night inside the compound they were about to pass to their hotel. They asked each other who could be sitting alone in the middle of the night. But no one talks; they run to their hotel and sleep.

Red and Orange Modern Horror YouTube Thumbnail_20240510_194541_0000.png

Later in the morning, I heard the rumor, and I said it's like this thing is getting clear now. But who am I to complain? I'm only scouting for free. Time passes, and then it's obvious to people that the house is being hunted by a ghost and some other spirits.

We all realize what is happening, and then people in the compound start praying and fasting so they can cast the ghost out of the compound. I forgot to say that the landlord of that house is also living with us.
After too much pressure, we heard lots of stories about the haunted house. The owner couldn't do anything because we are all sure he knows about what is going on.
Now here is exactly where the real war started. My colleague keeps praying over and over again and keeps fasting day and night. I called my friend, Ruth. How far are we still going to live here or join them in fasting and prayers? She replied that we have nowhere to go because we are scouting anyway. That was when I knew I'd had a lot of work on my neck.

I couldn't join them in their prayers because their prayers are more about attacking the owners of the house and chasing the ghosts away. I knew from the very start that we weren't going to be able to chase the ghost because of our overly high level of spirituality.
I had to stay in my room to pray every night, and even though I'm unable to sleep, I still pray. Well, no one is sleeping alone; we were like four in one room because everywhere is so scary.
After so many prayers and fasting, the man came out and said, We are too small for him. It was then that I realized I'd have a lot of work to do. Remember, I've got no choice but to stay; I couldn't even afford to rent an apartment or go anywhere.

Yellow and White Simple Prayer Night Instagram Post_20240510_195347_0000.png

Well, the prayers continue; we join hands to pray every night. Until one day.
One day, I will never forget my life. One of the hotel mates fell sick and traveled home. And that was the end; he never came back. All we heard was that he fell sick and then died. Everyone went there to greet him.

At this point, my fear increases. I prayed like never before. But it's not enough. The person leading the prayer every night also got sick and couldn't stand up a bit. He was sick for weeks, and the prayers stopped. Well, I couldn't stop the prayer because I knew what we were facing.
Until another day. Another day that makes me freak out entirely.

I don't know what actually happened that day; my spirits do not want to sleep alone because everyone in my room wasn't around. So I decided to go and stay with my neighbor. We were even expecting me, because no one can sleep alone. Getting to her side, I could not sleep as usual. She has slept like a bouncing baby. And since I couldn't sleep, I stooped up and started helping her kill mosquitoes; I'm the room. It was in the middle of the night, and I felt like urinating. I went outside, and I saw something at the back of my window. I know very well that it wasn't human but spirit, because I took my time. I went back inside and locked my door. I prayed till morning; I couldn't say how much I got scared that night.

After that night, my prayers got answered. I met someone from nowhere who gave me a furnished apartment to stay in; in fact, that's a story for another day.

This is a prompt from [INLEO](https://inleo.io/profile/leogrowth you can also click and write about it.

This story is nonfiction

Images Designed using canva

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @moremoney28! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 6250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP