Against All Odds - Creative Nonfiction #51

in The Ink Well9 months ago

Our jubilation knew no bounds. On the very day his promotion was announced, we all went as a convoy, away from where known eyes could see us. We got to the famous Splash Lounge, an exotic space where you can have the best relaxation and cruise service. Our team was already used to going out and having fun. We were all young and lived to explore the world.

Doyin worked in the local government council, he started work while we were still in secondary school. His father was a well-known politician and could pull the strings anywhere around the state. So, while we were still struggling with secondary school, Doyin had already started earning a salary.

As we sat comfortably in the soft chairs and luxurious atmosphere, Sylvester, one of our friends, as a medical laboratory scientist declared:

Serve everybody, around.

By this, he meant that we should be given a bottle of our brand beer. Those of us who had changed from taking beer to gin or whisky got what they demanded and the party started.

We arrived at the spa and lounge around 6:00 p.m. but left after a three-hour drinking spree.

Doyin was just about to clock thirty years of age when he attained the position of council-manager, the purpose of our celebration.

In the course of our having fun, we discussed, debated, and argued about several issues. Some of the issues we discussed were not relevant at all. They are bothered about women, money, and the jobs in our offices.

That day ended with Doying getting his first car delivered to him at the lounge. The jubilation doubled but I made sure I didn't take any more beer. I was so high. It would be my first time to take so many bottles of beer.
I had to consult my intimate friend, Shettimah who was sitting next to me.

Guy, I am high. What do I do to dispel the intoxication?

Shettimah smiled back at me. He was tipsy too. But I wanted to ensure that I didn't disgrace myself in the open among my friends. Shettimah's advice was that we should order pepper soup. I wondered at that point if pepper soup could help my situation.

Another thought enveloped my reasoning. It was the thought of ordering pepper soup for myself alone. In a gathering of that magnitude, where other folks have been making orders around the table, I had no choice but to order likewise.

When the pepper soup was served, I pounced on my dish and devoured it in seconds. I was so eager to get my head cleared of that awkward feeling of being tipsy.

After the whole fun-like outing, everyone sorted the bill of what they had ordered. It was then I noticed that I had spent almost my salary for the month ordering the pepper soup. Silently, I paid but regretted that outing. At that juncture, the alcohol in my veins vanished. There was nothing I could do than to sort the bill.

As we moved out, a cold natural wind blew past my face. Then my tipsiness got a hold on me again. Instead of opening the car door, it was the bonnet I went for. Shettimah had to hold me by my hands and lead me into the car. I slept off almost immediately. I am grateful to Shettimah for how he supported me and ensured that I got home.

My worst experience started when everyone had gone to their respective homes. My countenance changed. I needed to empty my system. My legs could no longer carry my body, so I had to crawl to the lavatory where I threw up all the liquids and the pepper soup I munched at the spa and lounge. It was after this that I got relieved a bit.

The whole house was perfumed with the smell of beer. It was so awkward. That was the last I remembered until I woke up the next day.

Headache was the call that made me remember that I had so much alcohol the day before. I had to put a call to Shettimah:

Guy. Are you awake?

I asked. He responded in the affirmative.

Bro, I have a headache.

He laughed and said:

That's a sign that you have a hangover. Take enough water.

That day, I was dizzy throughout. I held a bottle of drinking water everywhere I went. Many people didn't know what I went through.

pexels-photo-5054694.jpeg
Ketut Subiyanto

My friends were gathering again. They called me and I joined them but with caution. I was never going to take alcohol. As they kept ordering beer or whisky, I was asking for water or fish or anything that would not get me tipsy.

It has been over ten years now and I have not tasted alcohol. I started noticing that those I called friends started deserting me because I do not take beer anymore.

These past ten years have been the best for me because I am not under any pressure to live for other people. My point of view is not changed because I decided that I would not join in the adventure of ruining my life.

Sort:  

Alcohol is not good especially if your blood is not strong enough to handle it. It was good you had Shettimah by your side and thank God you could stand by your point even though your friends were not happy with you for not taking alcohol with them.

It was a tough decision but I am glad I stood my ground and moved out of that friendship. Today, I can proudly say that I am living the life I ever wanted.

Why does drinking alcohol have to be an imposition? It is a decision and there is nothing wrong with not wanting to drink even if others are doing it. Those who turn away because of something like that simply do not deserve to have you by their side, if they are not able to respect something as normal as not wanting to consume alcohol.

The truth is that I drink very little, the whole year can pass without me drinking alcohol, because it is not a habit that I have at home and I don't go out much. Sometimes when I go out with my friends, I drink, but none of them force me to drink or bother me if I don't want to, it's called respect.

It's just unfortunate that people could stoop so low with pressurizing their friends to take to a habit they do not find appropriate.

Sounds like you all had fun. And I hope you don't get addicted, I for one don't appreciate alcohol for no reason. Just a terrible experience. Beautiful work. From #dreemport

Thank you for sharing your story in The Ink Well!

Hello from The Ink Well admins. While your story was not personally curated this time, we appreciate your participation in the community.

Imagen

Taking alcohol should be a personal decision. No one should be pressured to do what they don't want to do.

It's a good thing you learned and decided to stay away from it.

Thank you for sharing.

I have moved on and all that is in the past now. I still get to see my friends but we do not hang out together anymore.