Every Day of My Life - Inkwell Creative Non-Fiction Prompt #17

in The Ink Welllast year

pexels-photo-5896471.jpeg
Mary Taylor

Every day of my life

Now, the days are over. The days where my time is scheduled only for me. I sometimes wish to have those days back. Looking back to the days when I do stuff of my own accord, not minding whose ox is gored. Gone are those days. I could even return home late at night after having some booze with my friends after work, or go watch a premier league or champions league match, and engage in an argument to keep body and soul together. Gone are those days. Most of these arguments were around politics, the economy, and public officeholders, generally.

After I settled down to family life some ten years ago, the responsibilities that come with that new life of marriage are an entirely different world of its own. My early marriage life was without stress. My wife does most of the chores. I only help out during weekends. So, during the weekdays, I would just be in bed until wake-up time. I'd return to sleeping after our family prayers which lasted about an hour in the morning.

She would prepare breakfast and lunch and get it packed in a lunchbox for me. I can tell that she is such a sweetheart, caring for those needs I would have had a headache trying to fix.

Things Have Changed

Things are not the same now. After we had our first child, more responsibility was doled to me. During the period when our baby was still very young, I assumed the place of a mother and father to my wife and child. I'd do most of the chores, happily.
Now, we have two children. We go to school together, my children and I. As I write this, they are sitting just next to me on the school bus. They are both in primary school. I work in the same school but in the college section. This is how my fatherhood journey begins and my routine is spelled out.

My Daily Routine

My wife and I have agreed to some terms. I know that literally, it may seem difficult for men like me to adjust to it but the I take these roles to heart while following this thought: what is a sauce to the gander is sauce for the goose is what I am applying to make it easy, to keep aside the ego of the man that I am.

The beep of the morning and the first alarm wakes us up by 4:30 a.m. from Monday to Friday. We go to pray for thirty minutes. Then, I wake the kids up by 5:00 am to ease themselves while I clean our shoes. They wear black shoes to school. I would have them polished and mine too.

I would bathe them after they have brushed their teeth. My kids are old enough to get themselves dressed up.

Between 5:45 am and 6:00 am, we must have finished dressing up. Every of these routines are done with prompts from our set alarm.

IMG_20210222_063325_270.jpg

Our lunch box is packed for both breakfast and lunch. We don't eat our breakfast at home because we must get on the school bus by 6:10 am. So, our breakfast is taken in my office. You can see that my task as a father is a tedious one.

On Tuesday and Thursday of every week, from school, we would move straight to the church for the evening service. The services are just for one hour, 5:00-6:00 pm. I see it a duty to know our maker and be diligent to our spiritual life by attending these programmes. If it has to be a vigil, we don't miss it and we do all that with our children.

In the afternoon of Monday, Wednesday and Friday, my wards would go home in the school bus while I stayed back to take a session or two with adult students who are preparing to take the university entrance examination.

Our Saturdays are for laundry and cleaning up the entire house. She would be washing while I help out in rinsing and spreading the washed clothes on the line. Usually, we would be done in an hour or two. I think this method has helped us in managing the stress that one person would have had to live with.

pexels-photo-3807332.jpeg
Elina Fairytale

Whereas, on Sunday, it's a different ball game. We ensure not to go late for church services. We know that if we could go to our casual work punctually, the work of God, our maker deserves more. As ministers and workers in the church, we ensure that we satisfy our urge to be faithful and diligent, it is the fruit of being inclined to the things of the spirit.

Sometimes, I look back and it looks like my lifestyle is boring but that is not the picture. Family life is enjoyable and investing in it is the best asset any man can have. Today, I live a triangular live, timed and framed around fun and living for good health and family life.

Thanks For Reading

Sort:  

Men like you should be valued, thanks for helping your wife out, it could be overwhelming for just her to do everything.

I enjoyed reading.

Thank you, @amiegeoffrey.
I think women deserve more. They should be ably assisted by men in doing some.of those chores. Unfortunately, society has stereotyped some responsibilities to women.

The responsibility that comes with parenting is different from when we were alone, I don't have a child but I have younger one in Junior school and I can tell what it feels like to wake in the morning to help them prepare for school.

You doing are great job sir and I pray that the Almighty God give you the power to continue taking care of your family.

You are right, my friend.
Parenting is a great responsibility and not for immature minds.
Some flows who take care of family members who are not their biological wards could also be likened to parents.

A routine that may seem monotonous, but that simply gives them perfection and skill in what they do. A story told from an interesting narrative and without losing the original thread. Thank you appreciated @mrenglish for sharing it with us, best regards.

Thank you so very much my friend. Life poses such responsibilities before you, it takes a large heart to put yourself together.

I see you have a beautiful routine, especially with your wife, that's nice.

Thank you, @rukkie.
We gotta do what we gotta do to keep the home moving.

Sometimes it is underestimated what needs to be done inside the home every day, many think it is simple, but it takes commitment and dedication to keep everything in order.

The job of creating a healthy environment for children is also mostly overlooked, I'm glad you have good family dynamics, being a parent is not easy among so many stereotypes.

Thank you for sharing.

It is proper to be able to help out, your partner especially. It makes the home front enjoyable by both parties.
Thanks for your sincere comment in this work.

You are a very disciplined person, @mrenglish. I think as I read this of the investment you are making in your family.

One day, when you look back, you will know that you have done everything in your power to help your children grow to be happy, productive people. That will happen faster than you expect.

Enjoy these busy days.

Thanks for your encouraging words. I'd take them to heart.

Wow! your task as a family man is a tedious one but you had to manage your time with your wife and your children, also creating time for God is another great thing. Life changes and as we move onto the next stage in life, we find out that responsibilities also change and we have to adjust to it. All the best to you and your family.

Thank you, a bunch. The changes will come and all we could do is to adjust as much as possible.

Wow, I love the way you and your wife are working together to make work easy for the both of you and hey, you have lovely kids

Thanks man. We do what we gotta do.