Christmas lights

IMG_20210902_140627.jpg

A couple of days I had a headache. I felt like my head would break because the pain was so terrible. It was that night when my headache stopped. I just noticed it when the heavy rain never stopped pouring for a whole night. Before I realized it, it's already 1 of September. It's expected that this month the rain will be falling. I wish to stop it because it's too much of a hassle to go to work. The roads in the City get flooded easily and I really hate it. Even so, I'm thankful for it, my headache stops when I let the rain fall on me. It seems stupid, it's like I'm a child who is thinking a miracle about how it happened.

The Christmas lights are hanging. The Christmas songs are playing. What to expect, today is September, and we Filipinos started celebrating when the "Ber" months entered. Of course, I'm one of them who is excited when Christmas comes. I couldn't wait but remained calm as I'm eager to go home to celebrate Christmas with my family.

My heart fills with laughter and joy while imagining life at home. I'm working in the office in the City and my chance to see my mom, dad, and my younger sister is during Christmas. I know it's too early for me to ask that soon I can go home. How can I stop being excited when I'm enduring it to see them once a year?

I roam around, I let myself be soaked with that heavy rain. I think it's fine because I love to see the faces of the people getting excited for Christmas to come. All of a sudden, a feeling of home as illustrated in my mind. I smiled silently because of the excitement to be home but I stopped myself. I don't want people to see me being insane, you know smiling alone.

I take a few more steps to glance more at the spirit of Christmas enveloping the surroundings. It feels chilly, not outside where I can feel through the velvet of my skin. It's inside me that pictured myself jumping.

"Oh, I'm going crazy again."

I said to myself while smiling.

IMG_20210902_140713.jpg

After that, I didn't know what happened. It felt like it was a dream when I woke up. I heard the cold voices, it's obvious that those sounds came from the anguished heart. I'm still clueless, I had no idea where it came from and whose mourning. I asked myself if I'm still sleeping or something because I can only see darkness. As if, my eyes were being blindfolded so that I couldn't see anything.

"Please God, let me see what's happening."

I prayed and begged. I never thought a miracle would happen because after I prayed to God I finally saw everything.

Shocked. Horrified. I couldn't believe what I was seeing right now. I let the tears flood my lonely soul. I don't know what to say, I'm still in the process of accepting what's happening. I saw my whole family crying.

The desperate looks of my father crying while shouting. My mother collapsed from crying too much. I could tell by seeing the tears from her eyes. My younger sister never stopped crying as well and saying sweet words. I knew of course that she loves me that much when I was at home but I can't believe it's that deep.

So it's true that when you die you forget everyone but only your loved ones will remind you. The memories of the past will keep coming back, remembering your existence when you're with them and bringing you back from being lost.

The day I had a headache I went to a doctor to check up on my health. I learned that I had cancer and my death would be expected soon. I was desperate. I turned myself into despair. It only brought me alive again when I saw the Christmas lights were hanging already. That's why I went for a walk to enjoy the spirit of Christmas even though it's impossible for me to experience it again. That time I didn't realize that I had collapsed and my life had ended already.

It's unbearable seeing my family is so sad as of this moment. I hope that I can comfort them even though I don't want to leave them and at least for one last time they can see me smiling and hug them. Even so, if they will never see me now, at least they can feel my presence through the depth of my sadness.

END...

Thank you for reading and thank you again @agmoore for giving me an idea
images are mine

mrnightmare

Sort:  

Congratulations @mrnightmare.net! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 600 replies.
Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the Hive Power Up Month - Let's grow every day!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Thank you for posting this story of joy and sorrow in the Ink Well community. You take us through the complex emotions experienced by someone who has just died. This is an interesting exercise in writing about a challenging subject.

We thank you for commenting meaningfully on the stories of your fellow authors. This is the sort of engagement that keeps our community strong.

Pleasure is mine, and thank you for the support.

Hello @mrnightmare.net,

I'm happy you are finding inspiration in different subjects. This approach you take here is interesting. The protagonist is experiencing death, and yet is able to observe family and events around him.

The addition of the Christmas holiday is a good idea. It saves the story from being morose. Not only is there celebration all around, but this is a celebration of a miraculous birth. That offers an emotional balance to the reader.

I enjoyed reading your story. Thank you!

It's happening here, in fact, I saw one of my neighbors hanging Christmas lights and that's the reason I god an idea to make the story like it. I couldn't find a sequence of the story not being dead since headache for days is a serious problem.

Thank you for showing me images through your imagination, it was fun exploring them.

It is good to read how your writing evolve over time. Now, you make stories out of ordinary and make it interesting. !discovery 20

Really? Thanks even though I didn't notice it.

Yes, I see improvements in your writing.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Nicely crafted @mrnightmare.net. Easy to follow and read with its clear narrative.