You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Heritage: Inkwell Creative Nonfiction Prompt #13

What you wrote about nobody knowing exactly what their lives were like reminds me of an old saying about people die and become memories, memories become legends when everyone who knew you in real life dies, and legends become myths, meaning nobody knows the truth and there are many versions of the story forever on. That is actually one way in which traditional ferry tales originate, because true stories change little by little as they get told, until you end up with something that doesn't even resemble what actually happened.

Sort:  

because true stories change little by little as they get told, until you end up with something that doesn't even resemble what actually happened

I used to teach social studies. In my first lesson I would tell my students not to trust what I say. I told them that no matter how honest I was, I was going to be mistaken, sometimes at least. Take nothing at face value, I warned them. Question everything. It was probably the best piece of advice I gave in my career :)