A conversation about you that you weren’t supposed to overhear. [ EN - SPA ]

in The Ink Well4 months ago

Banner titulo.png


Today is day 7/100 prompt challenge, and I have to say it's getting hard, but I guess that is the main idea of this challenge, write anything you want coming from one sentence, today is: A conversation about you that you weren’t supposed to overhear. I immediately thought about high school, rumors and gossiping.

I did it in the style of a diary entry


Banner Ingles.png

15 February 2007

Hello Candy Dreams,

It’s me… Well, who else could it be. I wish I could tell you about an exciting adventure like I climbed Mount Everest, or that I swam with sharks. But sadly, that will never happen.

What I can tell you was the nasty rumor some of the girls in my class want to spread about me …

After science class we had a short break because our teacher Mr. Skinner was running late. So, we had to wait for a few minutes. I decided to sit in the stairs behind the science lab. It’s a quiet place, and I was going to be able to read my book for at least 10 minutes. I can’t wait to read when everybody realizes that the red witch is actually the queen of the enchanted forest.

So, I was there when I heard the “mean girls” talking about that the school hasn’t had a good rumors in a while.

They said they're going to say one of the girls in the 10 grade is pregnant, that one of the boys from the basketball team is using drugs and that I am in love with Mr. Smith and that we are in a relationship and that’s why I am in the top of the Biology class.

I can’t believe they are going to say something like that, this can be the end of Mr. Smith profession, he can get in so many problems even end up in prison.

I already told my parents about it, and we are going to go to school tomorrow, before it is too late.


Banner Espa;ol.png

15 - febrero-2007

Hola CandyDreams,

Soy yo, bueno, quién más podría ser. Ojalá pudiera contarte sobre una aventura emocionante como que escalé el Monte Everest o nadé con tiburones. Pero lamentablemente, eso nunca sucederá.

Lo que puedo decirte es el desagradable rumor que algunas de las chicas de mi clase quieren difundir sobre mí…

Hoy después de la clase de ciencias tuvimos un breve descanso porque nuestro maestro, el Sr. Skinner, estaba retrasado para nuestra clase. Entonces, tuvimos que esperar unos minutos.

Decidí sentarme en las escaleras detrás del laboratorio de ciencias. Es un lugar tranquilo, e iba a poder leer mi libro durante al menos 10 minutos. No puedo esperar a leer cuando todos se den cuenta de que la bruja roja es en realidad la reina del bosque encantado.

Entonces, estaba allí cuando escuché a las "chicas malas" hablar de que la escuela no ha tenido buenos rumores en mucho tiempo.

Dijeron que iban a decir; que una de las chicas del grado 10 está embarazada, que uno de los chicos del equipo de baloncesto está usando drogas y que YO estoy enamorada del Sr. Smith y que tenemos una relación y por eso estoy en lo más alto de la clase de Biología.

No puedo creer que vayan a decir algo así, este puede ser el final de la profesión del Sr. Smith, puede meterse en tantos problemas, incluso terminar en prisión.

Ya se lo conté a mis padres, y vamos a ir a la escuela mañana, antes de que sea demasiado tarde.


pexels-cottonbro-studio-7407865.jpg

Photo by cottonbro studio: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-in-black-leather-jacket-sitting-on-black-metal-staircase-7407865/

Sort:  

Loving the style! I'm not a fan of first-person stories, but this approach allows readers to experience the character's emotions. Gossiping is dangerous and capable of ruining many lives. Starting a gossip is like using a broken phone, each person adds their own twist to the narrative. The story covers exactly this so bravo!

Thanks @darthsauron it means a lot!
It's actually the first time I made this type of writing style. Like I said at the beginning I am doing a writing challenge (personal one) and I am pushing myself to write different things I normally write.

Thanks for the comments and the encouragement ❤️

Hi @natalialove. Your story is interesting, and it draws us in! We want to know more. In fact, here in The Ink Well, we are all about short stories and we are looking for complete stories with a beginning, middle and an end. If you read our writing prompts and other guidelines, you will see that we recommend that you include the important story elements of character development, dialogue, action, conflict and resolution, and that your story be at least 750 words.

Here are some tips to learn more about The Ink Well and the kind of content we accept:

  • Be sure to read The Ink Well community rules at the top of the community home page, and check out our FAQ about The Ink Well.
  • We accept two kinds of short stories in The Ink Well: fictional stories and creative nonfiction stories.
  • You can find some great articles on fiction story writing in our catalog of fiction writing tips.
  • You can find information about what we are looking for in creative nonfiction stories in this post.

And please be sure to engage in the community by reading and commenting on the work of other community members. We ask everyone who post in The Ink Well to read and comment on at least two other stories for each one published. Thank you!