T H E L I T T L E I M P

in The Ink Well4 years ago (edited)

IMG_21262867891645.jpeg

I was once a little imp that roamed the street
And thought I was a giant a
at three feet
Only I was small and shy as a fly that I recall
A teeny-weeny with nothing of fancy to show at all

I was forbidden to swim without notice the Tanjay River
Never even in company of children my age hither
But inside my head I heard the voice of a fiend
And off I went to the river in high tide with a friend

We're soon swimming amid laughters and shouts
The water was green and so deep no doubt
"Don't cross the river if you can't swim the tide!"
I remember Mama's words each time I took a dive

The sun was at arm's reach when we called it a day
I was soaked to the bones and my spirit in fray
Now loom the prospect of getting soaped after a swim
I knew too late it never pays to do things on a whim

At home my Mama scowled at the top of her voice
Her wrath I wanted to escape but I had no choice
A twig she held in her hand was meant for my butt
For breaking a rule she turned mean I lost my gut

In a flash I saw the whip coming so I ducked and run
She yelled "Virgilioooo!!! come here you son of a gun!"
For I feared her ill temper more than the slim twig
Under the bed I scampered with fright and hid

My mother gave me five lashes and in pain I cried
I can't keep my tears from rolling though I tried
Some lessons are bitter pills I had to swallow
To show the right path I must follow

Sort:  

Thanks a lot Jude.

CONGRATULATIONS!

Your post has been curated and was included in the featured posts in Hive PH Curation post #48.

Please continue to create distinctive and informative write-ups and don't forget to include #hiveph on your tags.

Kindly subscribe also to the Hive PH community where you can co-exist with fellow Filipino authors and discover more of your passion in writing.

Chat and interact with our fellow Filipinos in our discord channel.

You can also follow us on Twitter and Facebook for more community and blockchain updates.