Betrayal, love and fear

I’m not someone that has lots of friends, I take my time to pick my friends because I know what being friends with the wrong person can do.

That's why i was still staring at my phone in disbelief refusing to believe what I just saw.

“Shola, you no go believe wetin my babe just send me now(Shola you won’t believe what my babe just sent to me now)” I said on the phone to my close friend shola.

“Wetin be that (what is that)” shola asked.

“She sent me a screenshot of her chat with ola, that boy has put me in trouble shola” I complained to shola.

“Wetin com dey the chat (what is the chat about) shola asked.

“Chill I dey bike dey come your side (hold on I’m on a bike coming to your house) I replied.

“Ok dey come I dey house (ok you can come I’m at home) he said.

10 minutes after the call I was at shola’s house.

“Bang” bang” bang” shola it's me come and open the door,” I said while I knocked on his door.

As he opened the door, I went inside fast
As I was angry at what ola did.

“Bro calm down let me see the message she sent to you,” shola said.

I unlocked my phone and showed him the screenshot my girlfriend sent to me.

“Guy are you serious right now? How sure are you this is ola” he asked.

“Shola don’t piss me off more than I am already pissed, only two people knew about Sarah and i, and is that not ola’s profile picture? I questioned him.

Sarah is an ex girlfriend of mine who for some reason I made the mistake of kissing while in a relationship with my current girlfriend.

He took a second look and realized it was ola who snitched on me to my girlfriend. I was furious and confused, I didn’t know why he would do something like this.

“Guy why will ola do something like this,” I asked shola.

“He has a crush on your babe but I didn’t think he would stoop so low to telling her about Sarah” he replied.

“A crush?” since when?” why am i just knowing?” why didn’t you tell me? I questioned him.

“Slow down, he told me a few months ago but knowing how you’d react I decided not to tell you” He replied.

“Shola what should I do?”
“What do I tell my girlfriend?, I haven’t even spoken to her since she sent that message”. I asked.

“Guy call her and tell her the truth what happened between you and Sarah was a mistake” he advised.

“I think that's what I will do. But guy if I should see ola I will beat him black and blue” I replied.

“Guy calm down and call this babe first,” shola said.

“Ok let me call her” I replied.

“Ring” Ring” Ring” the sound of the phone ringing coupled with the sound of my heart beating so hard against my chest was all I could hear, I love this girl and I didn’t want to lose her. I shouldn’t have allowed that mistake to happen, I should have known better.

“Hello,” a soft voice said over the phone.

“Babe Rachel before you say anything I can explain,” I said straight away.

“Ok go ahead seun explain” she replied.

“You know Sarah my ex?, the other day she came over to my house, I didn’t know she was coming, I swear it happened so fast. She kissed me out of the blue but I pushed her away I promise. The only thing we did was kiss, nothing more you have to believe me “ I explained desperately to her.

“But ola said you had sex with her who do I believe now” she said.

I could tell she had been crying prior to me calling her and that made me so sad and angry at the same time. I hate when she is sad.

“Babe you have to believe me, you can ask shola he knows all that happened” I reply

“Shola will only cover for you and you know it ok if it was a mistake why didn’t you tell me,” she asked me.

“I was afraid of how you’d take it I didn’t want to lose you you have to believe me,” I said.

“I don’t know seun I don’t know,” she said.

I could hear the uncertainty in her voice and that made me scared.
I didn’t want to lose her.

Then I remembered something.

“Wait I have proof that all that happened was her kissing me,” I said.

I then proceeded to sending her a screenshot of my chat with shola, where I told him in detail what had transpired between Sarah and i.

“Babe have you seen it,” I asked.

“Yes,” she replied.

“So you see I wasn’t lying I love you so much I wouldn’t do such a thing to you,” I said to her.

“I love you too but you see what I have been saying about ola, I told you I didn’t like him now see what he has done” she scolded me.

“I know what you said and now I see why I’m sorry,” I said.

“So am I forgiven?” I asked.

“Yes baby, I’m sorry I doubted you.
I didn’t know what to think when ola sent me that message. she said.

By the way, how did he get my number?” She asked.

“I don’t know maybe he took it from my phone” I replied.

“Ok, I’ll block him now. Just be wary of people you call your friends” she said.

“Yes, babe I will. I’ll come over later today” I replied.

“Alright, I’ll be expecting you. Bye love you” she said.

“I love you more”
I replied before ending the call.

“So I guess you guys are cool now right?” Shola asked.

“Yes we are thank God” I replied

“What do you think I should do with ola, that boy messed up big time,” I asked

I wasn’t as angry as I was when I got here, mainly because I was able to fix things with my girlfriend. But I didn’t see myself forgiving ola for what he did.

“Bro I’ll advise you to leave him be,
Just forget what happened at least this one has opened your eyes” he replied.

I thought about what ola said for a minute and I decided to do what he said. But I’ve learned my lesson not to trust just anybody again.

“Alright, my bro I’ve heard you. Oya make we play one or two games make I school you (Alright bro I’ve heard you. Let's play a few games let me school you) I replied.

“Oya na make we play( Alright let's play)” he said.

we played a few games he won some but I won more. I then left for my girlfriend's house happy that what ola wanted didn’t happen.

Know who to trust and who not to everybody isn’t your friend.

Sort:  

People can mess you up big time oh!
Chai Ola!

Congratulations @onyema-norbert! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the September PUM Winners
Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-09 - Winners List
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This intrigue-filled story finally resolves in a happy way, @onyema-norbert. Thanks for writing it for The Ink Well and for the comments you leave on other writers' stories.

Like the story, very well build up the dialogues between characters, felt like real one.