You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Grandfather Clock (Short Story)

in The Ink Well3 years ago

Such a great story!!!! My favorite line:

Steel blades beat the soil in unison, raking the garden of the damned.

Sure captures a foreboding that I feel now, as if at any moment time, and my existence, could just

Sort:  

as if at any moment time, and my existence, could just

... disintegrate 🤣

Hi @owasco

yeah, it is one of those stories that is pretty metaphysical... but I tried to weave some concreate characters in there and hopefully do justice to the 'horror' tag. As I was writing it, I felt like the core theme/tone (outside of the psychedelic imagery) was that of an unsettling feeling, like the dream that the clock had Derek trapped in was a reoccurring motif of suffering that humankind perpetuates. He was in a dream, but it was actually an alternative dimension in the future/past? Somewhere in the swirling whirlpool of time.

The curse of the grandfather clock.

I really hope this story doesn't bleed into my dreams tonight 🤣

Me too, or into mine! It's very dreamlike though. I don't think I could do that. Did it take long to write?

Did it take long to write?

Truthy, no. I did spend about 30 mins editing it to remove repeated words and some clunky sentences, but the story took me about an hour and a half to write.

You're completely right about it being dreamlike, I hoped it might come across that it was all a dream, and then at the end it becomes apparent that it is Derek trapped by the clock in an unending horror of dreams that

He screamed inside his paralyzed mind... "NOT AGAIN."

... but it will happen again, forever.

Mwa ha ha ha ha 😂

Yes that's how it felt, trapped in a surreal and horrible moment in time.