A souvenir of Carlos - The Ink Well Fiction Prompt #107

in The Ink Welllast year

A souvenir of Carlos.



One night, it seemed like any other night before. But it felt different from other times, I was watching TV at about 1 am, while I was lying on the couch, with all the windows and doors closed, all the lights off. My name is Carlos.

When I had about 10 minutes lying on the couch, I could hear a noise coming from the kitchen, everyone in the house was asleep except me, I got up and before going to the kitchen I went upstairs and went through each of the rooms to see if everyone was still sleeping because I thought it was some of them wanting to play a little joke on me, but minutes after going through all the rooms I realized that it was only me who was still awake, when I went downstairs and went to the kitchen to see who was there, it turned out that no one was there, so I went to lie down on the couch.

Several minutes after checking the house and seeing that no one was awake, I continued watching the movie, I heard a noise coming from the kitchen again, I quickly got up and ran to the kitchen to see what it was and found my sister's cat, I took it and went to the couch with the cat to continue watching TV, but when barely 4 minutes had passed, I heard the sound again, but this time it was not the cat because it was still here with me, so I took the baseball bat I have under the couch to go investigate what was going on.



I get to the kitchen with the bat and turn on the light to have a better view of everything, when I enter and go through the whole kitchen I can't see anything. I let my guard down and went back to finish watching the movie from the comfort of the sofa, but once I was comfortable I could not stop thinking about what was producing the noise in the kitchen, I felt totally restless and a little scared not knowing what it was, I finished the movie and got up to drink water and then go to sleep.

The next day I told everyone in the house, but my grandmother with her things tells me: "The things you crash at night, they are always a mystery" and then I went to the gym, I return to the house late because when I leave the gym I went with a friend to drink some alcoholic drinks, I arrived home at about 12 am, I enter the house and I go directly to the kitchen to heat the food then I went to eat on the couch and when I was eating, I heard the same noise again as yesterday I got up to see and nothing, several times the same thing happened, the last time I heard the sound I went to see, but this time I could see what produced the sound, and it turns out that it was Antonio my cousin who had arrived yesterday and I had not even seen him, I was not warned that he was in the house, he is the cousin who loves to play a joke on people.


Note: Note: The drawings presented in this story are of my own authorship and was elaborated with Adobe Photoshop. I thank @theinkwell, for this fiction contest and I thank all the people who take part of their time to read my stories. Thank you all.


Firmapj.png


Sort:  

Hi @pjpavan. Thanks for sharing your short story in The Ink Well. We would have loved to see some more character development of the narrator!

You can find some great articles on character development in our catalog of fiction writing tips.

I loved Carlos' attitude after chasing the noise that bothered him with a bat, he realized it was his cousin who had arrived three days ago and wanted to surprise him. Have a nice day.