A Timely Reprieve!!! Nonfiction Prompt

in The Ink Well23 days ago (edited)


1000250470.jpg

"Arrghh what is this again now? Why can't I just rest in this house? Didn't I come home to rest?"

This was me talking to myself grudgingly in the room after a soft tut and making sure she didn't hear me because it would be an unresolved issue later. My aunt has this habit of repeating the same words especially when she is angry at someone. I fumed with rage and felt unhappy when I was woken up from sleep. I was just enjoying the sleep when I had turned and changed position from lying straight up with my chest up to sleeping by the side on the bed. Then, my aunt came to call me.

"Busayo, get up. We have some visitors. There is nothing for them to eat."

"Oh my God!" I was hesitant at first but reluctantly stood up after some seconds as the expression on my face was that of not having a smooth sleep. I wasn't expecting my name to be called at all, not with the work I did, and all I needed was enough sleep. I was far gone in my sleep and calling me in a loud voice brought me back to reality out of nowhere.

Do you know that feeling of being woken up unexpectedly when you are already enjoying the dreamland? Especially when you are having such a sweet dream that you do not wish to return to reality, then all of a sudden, someone taps you or calls you out of nowhere, that feeling would make you want to beat that person but in this case, it was my aunt. How on earth would I do that? But it pained me to my bone marrow.


Every year when I go to my hometown, it is with the thought that I just want to rest, but it wouldn't stop me from doing the usual activities like cooking, helping out around the house etc. On this day, I had helped out with a lot of activities at home; cooked for the family, washed the curtains, cleaned the windows, swept and mopped the floor and with the last breathe in me, assisted my aunt as a helping hand, spreading her clothes on the wire while she washed them.

She is just one workaholic person that doesn't take time to rest but will always find one or two things to do in the house. The only time she rests is at night when everyone has gone to sleep, and on other days, this woman would not sleep but start waging war in the spiritual realm not allowing others to sleep soundly 😄

My siblings and cousins had left home for church service after they were done with their tasks apportioned to them and had eaten. They had a program that morning around 10 am, and even when I was told to go with them, I declined and told them I wanted to rest. I later regretted the decision of staying back with my aunt at home.


I dragged my feet out of my room as I groaned and mumbled silently, blaming myself with words like, "I don't know why I didn't follow them to church. What is she even doing at home instead of being in church too?" I couldn't stop talking in my mind and was being careful of saying them out. I forced myself to the toilet first to clean my face up. When I got to the sitting room, I pretended to be happy and greeted the visitors who were already seated and were talking to my aunt.

I moved to the kitchen and she came to meet me and instructed me on what to do.


1000250608.jpg

"Rice again?" I frustratingly said when she told me to go and put rice on the firewood outside. In my mind, I was like, "She could have told us to cook a large quantity of rice when we did so earlier in case an unexpected guest showed up" With my frowned face, I stared at her as my brow went up and quickly took my eyes away when she was about to face me as I didn't want her to see my expression and the kind of look I gave her.

There was no light and the only option was to go outside to use the firewood. After her instructions, she left me alone and went to sit with the visitors and all I could hear later was the resounding laughter that echoed everywhere in the house and my anger intensified more.

"How does this woman expect me to do all of these alone, knowing how she had drained the last drop of energy in me earlier?" I said while walking towards the backyard where the firewood was.

"Another wahala (problem)" I said as I looked up, seeing how we had used water to put off the fire from the sticks and lightening it up again would mean a big deal for me.

To make matters worse, there was no kerosene nor petrol that could aid in bringing out the fire quickly and this would mean having to use all the energy in me and using the manual hand fan beside the sticks to blow out the fire to come out.

"This isn't my job to do na", I muttered and became more peevish and kept hissing incessantly, the more the laughter from them, the angrier I got.


As if God was with me and seeing how I wanted to rest without being disturbed, as I took the hand fan to start blowing, I heard some voices behind me and when I turned back, it was my sibling and one of my cousins who showed up.

"Oh God, thank you. Just at the right time." I said with relief.

I signalled for both of them to come over, and explain my situation, they felt pity for me and volunteered to help out with everything that I should go and sleep. They rushed inside to change their dresses, came outside within a few minutes and were ready to help out.

I thanked them and gave hugs to each with an expression that they came at the right time. I left the job after redirecting the instructions from my aunt back to them. I sneaked in through the back door, got into my room, and locked it from the inside so that no one would disturb me again. I was determined not to answer anyone until I was fully awake and that, I did. When I woke up, I bought some drinks for my sibling and cousin to compensate them for bailing me out and letting me escape the uninterested tasks being given to me.


First image belongs to me || Image 2

Thanks for your time reading. Looking forward to your interaction.

20240101_131050_0000.png

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I felt your pains, not having the time to yourself for enough sleep. And the way you were talking in your head made me laugh hard lol 😆

Thank goodness your sister showed up just in time to bail you out, and locking your room from the inside was smart, you never know who could come around opening your room door.

Hahaha 😆 I was so mad at her. No one can be like her but she doesn't want to understand that. Thank God for my sisters, if not, I don't know what would have happened 😅
Yes oo, I don't want anyone to disturb my sleep again and thankfully, I was the only one using the room, so, no one had business coming in. I had to lock in from inside 😅😅

Your aunt is posses by a working spirit, LOL, she was not considerate, if she doesn't get tired, not everyone is like her. I don't pray to meet with people like that because I am stubborn, we might end up having issues. Well, thank God for your siblings who showed up, atleast they rescued you lol.

A real possessd one oo 😅😂 she wants everyone around her to be that way but it is impossible. My siblings saved the day for me and I was so happy. I had a beautiful sleep afterwards. Lol

Congratulations @princessbusayo! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 150 LEO on Leo Power Up Day!
Thank you for participating in the Leo challenge.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024

Thank you for the badge, Hivebuzz 😊

Your effort to grow your stake in Leo is admirable and shows your commitment to the platform. Keep powering up and roaring @princessbusayo! 🦁

Yes my friend you are right. There are many reasons behind getting angry with people. One of the reasons is if someone says the same thing over and over again. Which is really annoying and I don't like it either. But you are angry and annoyed. That boring time you tried to forget by going somewhere else. Extremely intelligent.

Yea. I don't like someone repeating same words over again. So annoying
Thank you for your comment.

you are most Wellcome

I agree with you. There is always a big reason behind our anger. I am very happy that your siblings and cousin understand your situation and took pity on you. Nice post.

Yes. I was so happy then too. Thank you, Moaz for reading from me.

Chores are never fun, but they are especially exhausting when you are awakened from sleep! Thank you for sharing your story in The Ink Well, and for reading and commenting on the work of other community members.

Yes. It's so frustrating to be woken up from sleep just to do some chores especially when you already are drained from hard chores from earlier and instead of resting, you are disturbed. I hate it.
Thank you so much. I appreciate your sweet comment.

When you think you have time a lone for yourself, then they come with chores. Ahh, I can't explain how it makes me feel 😂.

It makes you feel aggressive at such person who makes you do that 😂😂😂
That is so frustrating and would wish I have control over the person but no choice 😕

Your sisters came to your rescue just when you needed them. I can imagine the relief you got after they took over
It can be annoying when you want some time for yourself and different task kept dragging you up and down

You know what? One day you will be in ur aunt's position and your experience will surely help you not to task anyone staying with you so much at the same time, lolz

#dreemerforlife

You know what? One day you will be in ur aunt's position and your experience will surely help you not to task anyone staying with you so much at the same time, lolz

You are right, mama. Even now, I don't overload people around me with loads of work as I understand the importance of taking rest when you have done something already. I am considerate oo 😆

I hate that my sleep gets disturbed too. Now waking me to come and cook might make me gift them an extra spoon of salt in that meal without realizing it. Lol.

Hahaha 😆 it is always painful and frustrating 🙃

Haha! I couldn't control my laughter while reading this 😂 I can also relate to this, I thought holidays was for resting but no, you will work and prefer there was no holiday day at all 😂

Thank goodness your siblings came through if not you for work that day add on top the tire way you don already tire

Yes oo. Holidays should be for resting and not to be jam packed with lots of activities again. Lol
If not for my sisters ehn, well, I wouldn't have a choice 🤣

When I go to the village I used to pretend not to know how to do some things, then they'll call other people to do it, that way I can rest small lol. Although we don't have a workaholic like your aunt 😂, most of my aunts work moderately an they even enjoy doing the work themselves instead of sending someone

Hahaha 😆 you know, I do this sometimes and other days, I bribe anyone who is willing to accept and I take my rest. Yes, there are some people who would prefer to do those tasks themselves without disturbing you and it is you who will feel like helping them.

I can imagine how you felt when you were suddenly woken up. I don't like it when someone wakes me up at the middle of a nice sleep. Especially having your favourite dream. You were lucky that your cousin came home at the right time to bail you out. You went back and continued from where you stopped, 😂 😂

Yes oo. I continued from where I stopped even though the dream I was having before the interruption was gone 😆

Hahaha... 😂 😂 😂

Hahaha. What can I do? Of course, nothing but thank God for my sisters oo because even if they didn't show up, I won't have a choice but that nagging will not end from me 🤣