The Three Rings

in The Ink Well2 months ago

Image source

I was just sitting by the poolside when Nelly, my cousin approached jumping with so much excitement. "Guess what... guess what.. come on Nora just make a guess". Okay.. calm down, Did you get your promotion? " I guessed ". " No Nora try again " come on Nelly.., you are well aware that I'm not so good at guessing so please stop with the suspense and give me the good news already, I'm getting impatient now... "Okay... okay Nora, I'll tell you". She brought out her hands, pointing to the beautiful ring that was on her finger.

"Surprise"!!!!. "She shouted". Awwwn on my gosh this is so beautiful. I gave her a compliment. "Yeah, Nora finally Gregory proposed and I said YES"!. I'm so happy for you cousin. Oh my gosh, this is just great. Wow, let's go home. It's time to share the good news with the family.

We went to where the car was parked, got in and drove home. While I was in the car, I just couldn't stop but ponder on how my cousin would get engage at such a short notice. I mean, as long as I can remember, it's only been two months since she met Gregory. First he gave her a promise ring when he wanted to travel out of the country and and now that he's back It's an engagement ring very soon they'll get married. And he'll give her a marriage ring. Meanwhile, I have been in a relationship with Kelvin for the past three years all I get is nothing but gratuitous gifts from him. And it's always on my birthday.

Uncontrollable tears went down my cheeks as I couldn't help but curse my fate. Just because I was sitting next to my cousin, I quickly wiped it off so she wouldn't feel bad upon seeing me sad.
Kelvin's love for me was unquestionable at first. Truly, our love was so beautiful and captivating as well. In fact, our relationship was the talk of the street. Making others jealous was something we were good at. We did a lot of beautiful things together. When we want to go to church, we would now use the same materials and wear to church as though we were couples. I really enjoyed his company so much. His parents loved as well.

I had already started dreaming of getting married to him and we planned on the number of kids we would have. He never missed a chance to spoil me. We would go shopping together. We went on dates on several occasions. Sometimes we would go camping. His last birthday party was just awesome. But I still couldn't get any sort of assurance from him that he really wanted to be forever with me. In fact, my last birthday gift from him was a teddy bear. " I mean what on earth would I do with a teddy bear ". Yes, it's true. I loved teddies but I was getting impatient already with his callous attitude. When I tried talking to him about our relationship, he just concluded that I was trying to make him feel bad or maybe rush him into something that he's not ready for. The fact is that his care, support and love makes everything look as though he's trying to " bluff out ".

" We're home " Nelly said as she startled me from my deep thoughts. " Hey baby girl, What are you thinking about now? I hope your not planning my wedding already in your head " she giggled. I quickly put on a smile so that Nelly wouldn't notice I was not fine. We went inside shared the news with everyone and Dad brought out wine, popped it and celebrated the good news. I also joined the little celebration with reasons to try cheer myself up.

My birthday was approaching soon and I was being hopeful that things would change this time. I had told Kelvin openly that I needed a ring on my birthday. I made sure I told him to make the ring bloom into a beautiful mind-blowing gift. And he agreed. He even made me a promise that he'd make sure his gift would be worth it. Goodness knows I couldn't help but get excited about my day arriving soon.

My birthday was finally here. I wore a beautiful dress and waited for my Prince charming to come get me. And in a split second, he came. He said we would be going to a simple but modernized restaurant because that's where he'd gift me my surprise. I got into the car and we drove to the restaurant where he said. A table was reserved for two and afterwards he called the waiter and asked me to make my order, of which I did.

While we were waiting, I asked him for my gift because I was getting so impatient already. But then he said he had prepared everything and that he had three special rings for me. "Three special rings... Oh my word I can't believe I'll get all three rings at once.. My cousin got a promise ring first, then engagement and is waiting for marriage ring. But I'll get mine at once. I couldn't help it. So I got up, hugged him and kissed him. "Alright baby, please bring it on" I said to Kelvin. The moment I looked away, he took the little bell that was on the table and rang it. Immediately he did, three groups of Men appeared singing and playing an old fashioned blues. I didn't utter a word. I just applauded them when they were done. As soon as they left, he took the bell and rang it again. A beautiful scooter was brought all wrapped up and decorated in front of me. I was perplexed, but was very happy because I really wanted to own a scooter someday. And then, as the lady left, he rang the bell again. For the third time, a young boy came out and handed me a movie ticket. and he left afterwards. " There you go My love, your three mind-blowing rings". On hearing that, I fell to the ground and passed out.

Thank you so much for reading

Sort:  

Your story has some nice spark to it, @quan45. And the humorous ending is delightful! Perhaps she will need to find another man to propose to her, since Kelvin does not seem to be taking her hints! Thank you for sharing your story in The Ink Well, and for reading and commenting on the work of other community members.

Thank you so much for always there to encourage me I really appreciate it.
Thank you for visiting my post.

Congratulations @quan45! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 8000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

Kelvin.... ..why was he so blind not to see those hints. I felt some nostalgia trying to feel for her, knowing what her expectations were.
Nicely written content.

He couldn't just see all of that.
Thank you for stopping by I appreciate