My Unlucky Day at School

in The Ink Well10 months ago


Image source by Ron Lach

In 2017, when I was still a junior high school student, I had an incident that I thought was the most unlucky. On Sunday night, I stayed up late watching the football game. It made me wake up late on Monday. Looking at the clock, I realized that I only had a little time to go to school. After taking a shower and wearing my school uniform, I ran to school and didn't have time to have breakfast. If it's not late, I'll eat in the school canteen.

After running for a while, I felt something wrong in my stomach. "Damn it, why does heartburn come at such an inopportune time" I spoke in my mind. The discomfort I felt was getting worse, I had to have a bowel movement urgently. At that time I was a little panicked because my journey was still halfway from school. I saw across the road there was a river flowing calmly. Without thinking, I ran towards the river and chose to defecate there. After finishing, I felt relieved, but when I stood up, my feet stepped on the moss so I slipped into the river.

"Ouch!" I screamed in pain as I fell into the water, which ended up soaking my school uniform.

With wet clothes, I was in a dilemma. "Should I go home to change my clothes or continue my way to school with wet clothes? If I go home, I will be late for school and be punished by the teacher. However, if I continue to school, I will have to deal with the ridicule of my friends." friends in my class". After I thought for a while, I decided to still go to school. Even though my clothes were wet and made me uncomfortable, I didn't want to be late and get punished by the teacher. I quickly took off my clothes and squeezed out the water seeping into my clothes. In a hurry, I ran as fast as I could towards school.

Finally, I arrived at school, but the school gate was already closed. "Damn it, I'm late,". I got an idea, I'm going to climb up the back wall of the school and sneak into the classroom. I hoped no one would notice my wet clothes. However, in class, there is my teacher named Mrs Susi. I know that Mrs Susi noticed my wet clothes.

"Mrs Susi, sorry I'm late. There was an unexpected incident on the way," I said in a low voice.

Mrs Susi saw my wet clothes and understood that something had happened. "Okay, this time I'll forgive you, but please don't repeat your mistake in the future."

Thank goodness Mrs Susi didn't punish me. I felt relieved to hear the words of my teacher. However, my friends in my class started to notice my situation. They pointed and started whispering among themselves. Some of them even laughed in ridicule.

"Hey, look at that! Kusuma is wet like a child!" ridiculed one of my friends in class.

At that time I felt embarrassed and uncomfortable. I feel a little sad to see the reaction of my friends in my class. Despite that, I tried to stay calm and try not to be swayed by their taunts.

Mrs. Susi who saw the situation, immediately took action. "Everyone, enough! What happened to Kusuma was unexpected. You shouldn't laugh at him. Don't forget that everyone can face difficult situations. Try to be understanding and kind to your friends."

Everyone in my class fell silent upon hearing Mrs Susi's words. I think they have realized their mistake and feel guilty for embarrassing me. They stopped mocking and a friend in my class named Sukromo approached me.

"Forgive us, Kusuma. We shouldn't laugh and make fun of you. We don't understand your situation," said Sukromo with a hint of regret.

I nodded my head, showing understanding. "Never mind, it's okay. I just want to have a good day today."

From this incident, I learned a little that the courage to face challenges is much more valuable than just a temporary appearance or ridicule. I also understand that everyone will have their own story and struggles, and I shouldn't make fun of other people in every life journey they go through.



This is a real experience I've ever had. I am retelling the story of my experience for Creative Nonfiction Prompt #38

Sort:  

Congratulations @radenkusumo666! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 600 replies.
Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the July Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - June 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the July edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

thank you

All good @radenkusumo666! You are a true inspiration for Hive! Keep going and reach your new target!

BTW, the HiveBuzz project needs your support! Help us continue bringing gamification, entertainment, and fun to the Hive blockchain. Check out our funding proposal and consider supporting us!
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

It seems from your experience that you are still a very young girl, no one should make fun of the incident that happened to you in 2017.
But I admire your courage that after falling in the river, you came out of it and then jumped over the wall of the school and reached your class.

Thanks.

I'm a boy, not a girl 😂😂😂

I am currently 20 years old sir. Thank you for your response. Actually I regret continuing to go to school. But I don't know why I chose to go to school at that time. But, in that incident, I got a valuable lesson and experience.

Hello from The Ink Well admins. While your submission was not personally curated this time, here are some resources for you.

Banner-update.jpg

Thank you for sharing your story in The Ink Well!

Be sure to check out our community rules at the top of The Ink Well home page or here.

To learn more about the craft of fictional short stories, check out our catalog of fiction writing tips. To learn more about the creative nonfiction genre and what we're looking for, read our FAQ and tips for success. Keep writing!

I understand. Thank You