Fear of the dark - The Ink Well Creative NonFiction-Prompt #93

in The Ink Well2 months ago (edited)

Fear of the dark

In Cumaná, Venezuela in 1959, I was 8 years old, we lived in a very humble house with my mother and my four siblings, at that time I was in the second grade at the Santa Teresa de Jesus School and my sister Aurora in the fourth grade, my mother Leonides, a seamstress, decided that in the free time that my sister and I had, we would go to that school. What they now call "directed studies" so that we would do our homework and thus excel in our studies.

When we arrived at the school the teacher told us that we could call her Aminta, she was fat, with curly black hair, unfriendly, very strict and spoke very loudly. In that school that operated in her house, in front of the place where all the students were sitting, there was a room closed with a padlock.

The first day we attended those classes she explained to us the study dynamics: "Once you finish your homework, we will do a dictation, whoever does not obey and does not do that activity well, will be locked in that room that has a padlock".

As my sister Aurora was the tallest and fattest in the class, the teacher told her: "You will be the one who will take the student who does not comply to that room", all of us present covered half of our faces with one hand and opened one eye like a vulture and looked towards that room, we were all terrified.

The first few days were rosy, but the rest were puddle stone. When we were sent away we had to walk past that room, I felt a shiver down my spine that went all the way to my feet.

One day the teacher gave us a dictation. I had the bad habit of doing the letter m in a different position, similar to the wings of a vulture flying in different positions. When we finished the dictation, the teacher picked up the notebooks and checked them. After a while the teacher called me over, I approached slowly and she said, "I'm going to put in your notebook how to write the letter m so that you write it as it is, not like a bird when it swoops down."

Back to my seat, I walked slowly, I arrived with my face white as snow, When I started to do that homework I had a hard time doing it, I concluded it, but the letters were uglier than usual, I took it to my teacher and she ordered my sister to take me to that room, She obeyed, but I was crying so much and I clung so much to her neck that my sister had to stay locked in the room, when I heard the lock creaking when they closed it, I felt my heart was paralyzed and I began to tremble, then my sister said in my ear: "" I will not leave you alone, I will protect you"", I cried louder and louder, I felt so afraid of the darkness that I did not open my eyes anymore from the terror that seized me at that moment. I don't know how long that confinement lasted, but it seemed like a century to me. When I left that room, I could not stop crying.

As soon as I was fired, I came home and was still crying. My mother was sitting in front of her sewing machine and asked me: "Why are you crying? And I answered: "I'm not going to that school anymore, the teacher is mean, she sent Aurora to lock me in the room that is padlocked, luckily my sister went with me".

My mother, who had jet black eyebrows, known for raising them when she got angry, raised them and spoke very loudly: ¡¡¡¡¡¡ "If that's the case, don't go to that school anymore!".!!!!!!

From that moment on, I felt very afraid, and when I went to bed I would wrap the blanket around me up to my head. My mother took me to a psychologist, gave me some guidelines that I followed and I lost a little of my fear.

When I got married, I lost the fear, since I had the company of my husband for 49 years, and since he went to heaven with Papa God, I was alone again, so those fears returned.

One day in the solitude of my room I talked to God and said, "Lord Jesus Christ Almighty, make this fear go away, because the day I die I will walk alone on the paths until I reach your presence." Since that moment I have never felt fear again, I live alone in my house with the company of God and Our Lord Jesus Christ.

Source from pixabay

ESPAÑOL

Miedo a la oscuridad

En Cumaná, Venezuela en 1959, yo tenía 8 años, vivíamos en una casa muy humilde con mi madre y mis cuatro hermanos, en ese entonces yo cursaba el segundo grado en la Escuela Santa Teresa de Jesús y mi hermana Aurora el cuarto grado, mi madre Leonides, costurera, decidió que en los ratos libres que teníamos mi hermana y yo, iríamos a esa escuela. Lo que ahora llaman "estudios dirigidos" para que hiciéramos los deberes y así destacar en los estudios.

Cuando llegamos a la escuela la maestra nos dijo que podíamos llamarla Aminta, era gorda, de pelo negro rizado, antipática, muy estricta y hablaba muy fuerte. En aquella escuela que funcionaba en su casa, frente al lugar donde se sentaban todos los alumnos, había una habitación cerrada con candado.

El primer día que asistimos a esas clases ella nos explicó la dinámica de estudio: "Una vez que terminen su tarea, haremos un dictado, quien no obedezca y no haga bien esa actividad, será encerrado en ese cuarto que tiene un candado".

Como mi hermana Aurora era la más alta y gorda de la clase, la profesora le dijo: "Tú serás la que lleve al alumno que no cumpla a esa habitación", todos los presentes nos tapamos la mitad de la cara con una mano y abrimos un ojo como un buitre y miramos hacia esa habitación, todos estábamos aterrorizados.

Los primeros días fueron de color de rosa, pero el resto fueron de piedra charco. Cuando nos despidieron tuvimos que pasar por delante de esa habitación, Sentí un escalofrío por la espalda que me llegaba hasta los pies.

Un día la profesora nos hizo un dictado. Yo tenía la mala costumbre de hacer la letra m en una posición diferente, parecida a las alas de un buitre volando en distintas posiciones. Cuando terminamos el dictado, la profesora recogió los cuadernos y los revisó. Al cabo de un rato, la profesora me llamó, me acerqué despacio y me dijo: "Voy a poner en tu cuaderno cómo escribir la letra m para que la escribas tal cual, no como un pájaro cuando baja en picado".

De regreso a mi asiento, caminé lentamente, llegué con la cara blanca como la nieve, Cuando empecé a hacer esa tarea me costó mucho trabajo hacerla, la concluí, pero las letras eran más feas que de costumbre, se la llevé a mi maestra y ella le ordenó a mi hermana que me llevara a ese salón, Ella obedeció, pero yo lloraba tanto y me aferré tanto a su cuello que mi hermana tuvo que quedarse encerrada en la habitación, cuando oí el chirrido de la cerradura al cerrarla, sentí que mi corazón se paralizaba y empecé a temblar, entonces mi hermana me dijo al oído: "" No te dejaré sola, te protegeré"", yo lloraba cada vez más fuerte, sentí tanto miedo de la oscuridad que ya no abría los ojos del terror que me embargaba en ese momento. No sé cuánto duró aquel encierro, pero a mí me pareció un siglo. Cuando salí de aquella habitación, no podía dejar de llorar.

En cuanto me despidieron, llegué a casa y seguía llorando. Mi madre estaba sentada delante de su máquina de coser y me preguntó: "¿Por qué lloras? Y yo le contesté: "No voy más a ese colegio, la profesora es mala, mandó a Aurora a encerrarme en la habitación que está cerrada con candado, por suerte mi hermana se fue conmigo".

Mi madre, que tenía unas cejas negras como el azabache, conocidas por levantarlas cuando se enfadaba, las levantó y habló muy alto: ¡¡¡¡¡¡ "¡Si es así, no vayan más a ese colegio!".!!!!!!

A partir de ese momento, sentí mucho miedo, y cuando me acostaba me envolvía con la manta hasta la cabeza. Mi madre me llevó a un psicólogo, me dio unas pautas que seguí y perdí un poco el miedo.

Cuando me casé, perdí el miedo, ya que tuve la compañía de mi marido durante 49 años de casados, y desde que él se fue al cielo, con Papá Dios, volví a estar sola, por lo que esos miedos volvieron.

Un día en la soledad de mi habitación hablé con Dios y le dije: "Señor Jesucristo Todopoderoso, haz que este miedo desaparezca, porque el día que muera caminaré sola por los senderos hasta llegar a tu presencia." Desde ese momento no he vuelto a sentir miedo, vivo sola en mi casa con la compañía de Dios y de Nuestro Señor Jesucristo.

Sort:  

Sending Love and Ecency Vote!

It’s really sad that the teacher made you fear for years until you met your husband and after forty nine years, the fear came again
It’s really a sad experience

Thank you for reading my story. Have a nice day