The anxiety of St. Patrick's Day

in The Ink Well2 years ago

jonathan-borba-GI3swpuZWRY-unsplash.jpg
Image source
Hannah was a wonderful girl, she was clever enough even though she was only a child in the hands of her parents.

ST. Patrick Day was around the corner, and her daddy has promised to buy green fabric to put on during the forthcoming celebration of ST. Patrick day because she was smart enough to be an outstanding student among her colleagues. She was first in the class, which prompted her father to do something for her as a way to encourage her to do more.

When she heard about the promise that her father made if she continues to perform excellently in her examination, she was excited to even put more effort to make sure that she maintains her standard to be the best student in the school.

Nevertheless, when the celebration of St. Patrick's day remained for two weeks, Hannah's father was sick and he had been rushed to the hospital for treatment. While on the hospital bed, he remembered what he promised his daughter about the green fabric, and he had spent all his savings on sickness. No money came in again because he did not go to work. He decided to leave the hospital. He asked the nurse to help him call the doctor because there is something he would like to discuss with the doctor.

Doctor: Hannah's father, I was told that my attention is needed. I hope there is no problem?

Hannah's father: Yes, Doctor. I want you to discharge me because I am okay now.

Doctor: Says who? Did I tell you that you are okay? We conducted a major operation on you, it was not up to a week and you want to go home. I will be the one to tell you that you are okay. If I may ask, what do you want to do at home?

Hannah's father: You can't just understand! You know my daughter Hannah, I promised her something and I am yet to fulfil the promise which I made for her. She didn't fail me and I should not disappoint her at the same time. I must leave here this week because I don't have money on me to buy green fabric for my daughter.

Doctor: So if you don't buy her clothes this year, you won't have a chance to buy clothes for her next year. Hannah is not a kid. What happened to you, "it is audible to the deaf and visible to the blind". This year St. Patrick's celebration is not the only one we would do, next year's festival is around the corner, she can wait until that time. You can even buy the whole world for her, but now you have to put things in the hands of the Lord to take control of everything.

Hannah's father: The Doctor, but I am president of a particular social club and we are yet to plan on how things are going to be that day.

Doctor: Please Hannah's father, I have a question to ask you.

Hannah's father: Go ahead!

Doctor: Do you want to die?

Hannah's father: No, why did you ask such a question?

Doctor: The reason I asked you this question is that I believe all your members of the so-called social club were here a couple of days and they also know that you are still in the hospital receiving treatment. You have a vice president who can fill the vacuum. If you must hold a programme at this year's festival, delegate your duty to the vice president. When you are alive, you can think about things of the world but if you are dead, the club will continue to exist because they will choose another person to be their president. I will advise you to take things easy and give yourself enough rest.

Hannah's father: Thank you, doctor. I will take it to your advice.

             The end

I hope you enjoyed reading my post.
Thank you for viewing my blog.
Warm regards,
@raymondpeter

Sort:  

In the end the doctor gave him very good advice and because of this advice a club can run in future. Thank you for sharing this beautiful article with us

Thank you for your comments

Sounds as though Hannah's father is devoted by has his priorities a little mixed up. The doctor is a wise man for explaining the possible consequences of an unwise plan. This is an interesting St. Patrick's Day entry.

Thank you for sharing this story with us. We appreciate that you engage with other authors.

@theinkwell community thank you for your support and comments on my post. I appreciate it. God will not put you in shame.

It's always a very delicate situation when we are called to put some promises on hold for another, better time. We can feel weighed down with the burden of not being able to fulfill something, but there might be extenuating circumstances that cause us to pause and reconsider. In Hannah's case, she would have to release her father from this promise for the sake of his health and for more years with him in the future!

Congratulations @raymondpeter! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 3500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3750 upvotes.
You received more than 50 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 100 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 25
Introducing NFT for Peace
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

He loves his daughter so much, if not for the doctor it would probably have killed him. Seeing as she is so smart and intelligent then she will have no problem understanding why he could not get her the fabric.
They will all live happily in the end, I am sure of that.
Thank you for sharing this beautiful storywith us.

Yes, it should not lay low but he who lives will enjoy the benefits of tomorrow.
He still has a great plan for his daughter. Thank you for your comments.