At a Railway Station: Prompt #Dialogue @wrestlingdesires

in The Ink Well2 years ago

"Hi Baiju"

"Hi Badre, for a moment I did not even recognize you."

"Sometimes it happens, but it doesn’t matter."

"You are just as you were three years ago."

"But you’ve gained weight."

"Oh no, not much."

"Oops, you should be careful."

"You look so tired."

"It was a long journey, from Kolkata to Raipur and then to Raigad. It was a long journey, really! "

"Which train did you come from?"

"There’s only one train, the Grand Express."

"Did you have a reservation?"

"Yes."

"Then why do you seem so tired?"

"It was very crowded, and it was boiling hot, and the compartment was not air-conditioned."

"It’s always crowded during festive times."

"But the Grand Express comes in the morning."

"It was four hours late."

"Was it too late from the start?"

"Probably not, but after a while, the engine failed." The train stood at a station for three to four hours."

"Where?"

I can’t recall the name. Somebody said, "Peepal."

"Kalapipal, wasn’t it?"

"Yeah, maybe it was the same."

"Did you sit on the train when it wasn't moving?"

"Yeah, but then I walked around the station for a while. There was nothing much to do"

"Well, you could have taken the bus from there."

"Yeah, some people went by bus, but I didn’t know the area, so I stopped there."

"They had no facility to fix the engine at Kalapipal."

"The engine came from somewhere else."

"Okay, so this is your room. Now you have some rest."

"Yeah, I’ll sleep here."

"This is the book you asked for."

"Thanks, I’ll return it soon."

"You keep it. I have another copy."

"Do you play any sports?"

"Nothing special, but I used to play hockey in school. "

"Well, it’s a good game. We play football every evening. From tomorrow, you can come and play with us."

"But it’s raining now."

"It’s fun to play football in the rain. Playing football isn’t fun until you get wet. I love falling in the mud."

"No man, I don’t enjoy getting wet in rain."

"Just try it, it’s a very fun game."

"No, I don’t want to get sick."

"You’re scared, but you can come and watch us play. Don’t play, just stand in the shed."

"Sounds okay."

"Look, after a few days, you will also want to play football with us, rain or not."

"I had heard your success story."

"What did you hear?"

"I know you were both good friends in school and college. Ron told me you both ran away from school once and went to see the fair during the New Year’s festival. Then both of you were caught by your parents."

"Yeah, I remember that lousy celebration where we were both tired and hanging out with strange people."

"Where’s your wife from?"

"Mumbai".

"Any kids?"

"A girl, two years old."

"What is her name?"

"Apia."

"Nice name."

"Thank you."

"What’s your program today?"

"I have to go to the block headquarters, which is about twenty kilometers from here. This is a government job."

"But today it’s Sunday."

"Sometimes this job involves working on a Sunday too."

"Why can’t you avoid it?"

"Oh no, man, it’s important to work. Would you like to come along? We’ll talk along the way and look at this area, too."

"It’s too hot."

"It is not a big issue, we like it."

"Mornings in my village are fun, aren’t they?"

"Yes, it seems so."

"You should come with me tomorrow morning."

"Of course "

"Tomorrow we will walk on the road across the village. I'll show you a small mountain stream. There is a small dam near the stream.

"We don't have anything like this in town."

"I'll be back home by eight o'clock tomorrow, so drop me straight at the train station instead of coming back home."

"Oh, back so soon? You've just arrived. Why don't you stay here a few more days?"

"I actually came straight from work. Tomorrow I have to go back to work. I have some urgent work waiting for me. I had nothing to do today, so I came to see you. "

"You did it well, but you'd better stay a few more days."

"I had the same wish, but I have to go tomorrow."

"What is such an emergency?"

"It's job related."

"Tell me if you have any problems. I have some acquaintances in your city office."

"Sure."

"If we both settled here later, wouldn't it be okay?"

"But what will you do?"

"I'll open a grocery store."

"It is a nice village, and the roads are good too. It looks like a very prosperous area. Your shop will be fine."

"Yes, the soil and irrigation facilities are good. Farmers are earning well. Farmers mostly grow cash crops. ,

"What are you growing?"

"Soybean and Cotton"

"It sounds like you know the area very well."

"Yes, it's been over two years since I've lived here. But now I'm thinking of leaving the village."

"Why?"

"It is necessary to live in the city because of the education of the children."

"Then what's your plan?"

"Mumbai or Nagpur, I will take a transfer in either of these two cities."

"And where is your house in the village?"

"He sold everything, even the land. There's nothing left now."

"And mom and dad, grandparents?"

"They'll all be here."

"I was away from home for a long time anyway."

"We're leaving. I thought I'd meet you. "

"Why will you leave today?"

"Yes, I told you I did. I was waiting for you. What happened to you? Oh, can you come?

Oh, can you come for a minute?

"Nothing happens, man. I'll be back, right? "

"The train is blowing its horn."

"What is the time?"

"Eight twenty."

(Image not shown due to low ratings)


Images were hidden due to low ratings.
Sort:  

Nice work, @rayt2. It’s very tough to tell a story in dialogue only. Our only view of the characters is through what they say. You did well with. It’s not too difficult to keep staring hot which speaker is the visitor and which one is the host!

 2 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment

What a journey!
What a conversation!

And that's one of the many reasons that I love train journeys, they are not only great adventures (even if the trains break down) but also fantastic places to meet people and have great conversations too!

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

Yes I guess when it's not something that you have to do every day, it is more like an adventure, but if it is a journey that you rely on to get you to work on time, then I understand, not so much pleasure to be had...

What a great exercise. You let the conversation carry the story. This takes tremendous discipline. You have to show us the characters, the scene and conflict without narration. At some point reader's interest will lag, but admiration will grow as you stick to the form. Strengthening dialogue-writing skills is critical in the short story form.

Thank you for sharing this story with the Ink Well community.

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

Well done :) It really is a difficult exercise to try to use dialogue only.

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thanks, it's always good to explore different styles 🙌

!PIZZA !ALIVE

@rayt2! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

 2 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(2/10) tipped @rayt2 (x1)

Join us in Discord!